Skip to content

The good thing about exams

March 5, 2007

Okay, two good things, if you’re me. I have Exam Brain; that is, I am very good at parroting back what I’ve heard in lectures. That’s not everyone, though.

The other good thing, the universal good thing, is that lots of exams mean little otherwork. Lots of reviews. Listening to teachers talk about the things we were already supposed to know. In some cases, going over the basics with the idiots. It’s almost…relaxing.

One other thing: I heard about this quote by Kurt Vonnegut and then looked it up on Wikiquote. It said, “If you really want to hurt your parents, and you don’t have the nerve to be a homosexual, the least you can do is go into the arts. But do not use semicolons. They are transvestite hermaphrodites, standing for absolutely nothing. All they do is show you’ve been to college.” I’m not sure how I feel about this. I hadn’t heard about the first part, just the thing about semicolons. I’ve read a lot of Vonnegut books–Cat’s Cradle and God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater are favorites–and I know how flippant he can be, but…SEMICOLONS ARE LOVE.

Yeah, that’s about all I have today. I’m pretty ill.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

