Skip to content

News? We got NEWS.

April 12, 2007

Okay, see all the books at the top?  That’s because I love books.  They are filled with all sorts of good stuff–okay, bad too, but I’m totally ignoring those ones (BUSHNELL)–and I have loved them since…I don’t know when.  I don’t even remember learning how to read; I just remember reading.  I remember reading so much that I didn’t want to do anything else…unless it was writing.

When I was sixteen, I wanted to be a librarian…sort of.  Well, I wanted to work at the library.  Not exactly the same thing, but my sixteen-year-old brain thought so.  So I became a student assistant.  It was around this time that I realized there was no way I was going to be interested in teaching, and so I guess that time as a student assistant was a sort of peek in to see what a librarian’s life was like.

Well, they were jerks, and I was a jerk (I was sixteen, but what’s their excuse?) and eventually I was politely asked to leave.  Oh, well, replace “politely” with “screwed over my summer and even my mother, who seems to enjoy when things go wrong for me, was pissed about the way they handled it.”  Needless to say, it put me off the idea of working in a library for a while.  It put me off that system specifically for a few years, and I did not go back until I was married and had a different last name.

After my marriage broke up, I tried to apply at local libraries.  I found that many do not take–oh, I guess we’ll call them laypeople.  Either high school students or those with degrees, I was told in PA.  I got an interview in the Northfield area once, and blew it out of the water, but they went with someone with a degree.  It soon became clear to me that I should really go for a degree.

Okay, so here I am, three and a half years later, with an AA in English and a year away from a BA in Literature and looking ahead to my MLIS.

A while ago, the ladies at my local branch (God bless the system I use now; it sure rocks to live on the border of three counties) told me to contact HR at their main branch about my future.  I was told that maybe–just maybe–I could get some work when I finished Stockton, and maybe–just maybe–they’d even pay for me to do my grad school work.

Hi, I love free school.

So I finally broke down and called them today, just to get someone to talk to, sit down with, and so on, but instead, they offered to send me an application for summer work!  I didn’t even know I could do that!  Why didn’t I call before?!?  Squee!

They’re sending the application in the mail TODAY (so prompt, so lovely), and I’m doing a little Snoopydance all over my house.

Yay, libraries!

…..Uh, what’s a cover letter?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

