Skip to content

Madeleine L’Engle died

September 7, 2007

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5jpAIlBo-eu0DGNDN7IUlqNgMY32g

I think more than Wrinkle in Time, more than Swiftly Tilting Planet (which was my favorite of the time quartet for a long time),  A House Like A Lotus was my favorite.  It was the first time I’d read about a lesbian couple in a YA-ish book, a couple that was like any other couple except that they were both women.  Polly’s awkwardness was something I really responded to, just as Meg’s geekiness in the time quartet was something to which I could relate.  The fact that Meg grew up to the be the lovely, centered mother of (a zillion other kids +) Polly really struck me, just as Anne of Green Gables growing up to be a beautiful, centered mother really struck me.  I could, because of these books, believe that one day I would no longer be a child, and I could be wonderful while being flawed and real.  (So many children’s books before the ’80s have mothers who are perfect or perfectly horrible.)  Most importantly, I learned that there is a light at the end of the tunnel called puberty.

Madeleine L’Engle is also responsible for my fear of that swing ride at Six Flags.  For years, I was terrified when my daughter went on it.  I’m pretty much okay about it now.

I knew that she would die this year–I just felt it.  From the time she stopped doing appearances, I knew it was a matter of time, but from the time this year began, I just knew.  Maybe we were kything.

She will be missed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

