Skip to content

New semester, new classes

September 18, 2007

I always forget this blog originally was supposed to be about classes.

I am taking Shakespeare;Intermediate Ancient Greek I (aka Ancient Greek III); Ovid; and Humor’s Logic, Laughter’s Wisdom.

First off, yes it is true; you do read 14 plays in Shakespeare, maybe even 15 if we get ahead of the game.  My suggestion is to get unabridged audiobooks and read along.  It really gives you a better sense of what’s going on, especially if you’re new to Shakespeare.  (I am very proud of myself this semester, because I GET it when I read it now, for the first time in my life.)

Secondly, yes, it’s true.  I haven’t kill Roessel yet. 😀

Thirdly, Ovid has been fun so far.  Lots of movie-watching and connection-making.

Humor & Laughter is just…well, we’re settling into the level of comfort a class needs to have to be mostly-discussion.  Dr. LAP is fun, but I think there’s a lack of structure in there that didn’t come together until today, when we really got to the point where we can have a conversation, or at least shout things out.  Also, Chad Juros is one of our classmates, and did some magic tricks for us.  That was superfun and, if you think it’s not ACADEMIC enough, really illustrates  what we’ve been learning about Kant and thwarted expectations.  So there.

So that’s what I’ve learned so far.  Of course, we have an exam next week in Greek.

Ah, school.  I’m so glad you’re back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

