Skip to content

Spring 2008 recap

May 14, 2008

Ancient Greek IV with Roessel: Obviously, this did not go well, as I had an altercation with the professor and took an independent study instead. From what I did do, it was mostly translation, which is really fun. That’s really all I can say about the class itself. The prof–well, this isn’t the venue for that.

Seminar in Feminist Theory with Deb Gussman: Tons of reading, tons of work, and then a whole thesis paper/project of your choice. Not for the faint-hearted–well, not for the weak-handed; you’ll be typing a lot. You might want to have some background in women’s studies, but I don’t think it’s necessary. You just have to be willing to put in the time and the effort. Deb is kind, but don’t mistake that for wimpy; she expects you to do all that reading and all that work.

Fictional Rome: Caesar and Cicero with Professor Mench: This was one of my two independent studies with Professor Mench. The syllabus was batty; there were over 5,000 pages on it. However, it was COMPLETELY fascinating. You read all this historical stuff and then you read the fictionalized versions of it. I LOVED this class. Professor Mench is teaching a modified version of it next semester; I highly recommend it. I had to do two papers as well: a five-pager and a ten-pager. Professor Mench has a very dry wit that seems to go over a lot of people’s heads, but I enjoy it.

Greek Tragedians with Professor Mench: The other independent study. I had to read twelve plays, four each of Euripides, Sophocles, and Aeschylus. I had three exams. I can’t speak for the actual class, because this was a version made up for me and my needs.

Senior Seminar with Professor Gussman: Obviously, I didn’t have a lot of professors this semester. Heh. Our topic was intertextuality, which SOUNDS like it wouldn’t be cool, but it totally was. But since the topic changes from semester to semester, it doesn’t matter about that. Instead, the course load.

Okay, obviously if you’re in lit, your senior paper isn’t going to be a walk in the park no matter what, but in this case I totally lucked out. Deb set reasonable goals that everyone could meet, and I hear that our courseload was light compared to the way that other professors have run the class. So if you can get Deb, get Deb but, as I said above, don’t think because she’s nice she’s a pushover. That’s so far from the truth.

We had to write a thirty-page paper with an annotated bibliography, but that wasn’t all we had to do. We still had to learn our subject. If this sounds like way too much to you…why are you a lit major?

Anyway, those were my classes. And now I’m pretty much done with Stockton.

I’ll be over here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

