Skip to content

Day 8: I kind of forgot about what I was going to do

September 9, 2008

I got really wrapped up in cleaning today and then my back got mad, so I just kind of vegged this evening and completely forgot about getting the Batman thing done.  Plus, I definitely think that it’d be the kind of post where I would like to confer with my partner in crime (fighters) and see if he agrees with my picks.  So that will most likely be tomorrow, Thursday at the latest.

That gives me a good excuse to pull out one of my filler ideas, completely stolen from a friend on Livejournal.  Let’s look at a couple of the books that I would consider the most influential, Kid Edition:

1) The Monster at the End of this Book – This is the first book I ever remember loving, and I also remember being on the edge of my seat.  It was sorta scary, but fun scary!  I’m fairly certain that it was one of the first books I read on my own.  I have no memory of learning to read, but that doesn’t surprise me because my daughter went from frustrated to being able to read EVERYTHING so quickly it felt as it if had happened overnight.  But I do remember making a decision to learn to read during a Strawberry Shortcake book.  I didn’t know what the words said, but I WANTED to.  I didn’t just want someone to read to me, I wanted to be able to do it myself.  And because I remember knowing the words to Monster at the End of this Book, chronologically my assumption works out.  So there.

2) Anne of Green Gables – A book that fostered my own imagination while reading about Anne’s.  I also think I got a bit of my academic competitiveness from Anne’s rivalry with Gi–some students in her class.  🙂

3) Double Love (Sweet Valley High #1) – Don’t get me wrong, I realize this SHOULDN’T be on here.  But it is anyway.  I saw the cover and I wanted it badly.  (This likely would’ve been 1984, if Amazon is right, making me seven or eight years old.)  Twins, who didn’t love reading about twins?  High schoolers, who didn’t love reading about high schoolers?  Sexual assault, who didn’t love rea–what?  Yeah, it’s only now that I realize how messed up it was for me to be reading these books at such a young age.  Speaking of which…

4) Master of the Game – The Sidney Sheldon masterpiece of fabulous ’80s glamour (sort of) and sex (definitely).  I remember catching a couple minutes of the miniseries (TV movie?) on the tiny TV upstairs in my grandparents’ house, and I knew that the paperback, with its black cover and its bloody diamond, was in our house by then.  Wikipedia says that aired in 1984, but I have a feeling that I hadn’t read the book at this point.  Still, there’s no way I waited very long after that to read the book–I want to say I started that night but I have no idea.  Again, this is horrifying to me, at the age of thirty with an eleven-year-old daughter.  The only book my mother ever censored from me was Princess Daisy (for the record, the only two movies were Gremlins and Fatal Attraction) and Sheldon’s sex scenes weren’t as graphic (obviously, I read the book when she wasn’t around–I knew where she had hidden it).  BUT STILL.  It was a R-rated soap opera in book form, and it started me off on a path that I’ll discuss a bit more later when I start recapping the Harlequins.  (Soon, really–unless grad school REALLY gets in the way.)

5) The Time Quartet (a bit of a cheat, I know) – A Wrinkle in Time impressed my tiny geek self, but it was A Wind in the Door that grabbed me–it was, unlike Wrinkle, so OTHER.  I could not even imagine what Proginoskes looked like, even with the image on the cover.  Even though A Swiftly Tilting Planet isn’t next chronologically, at that point it was considered a Time Trilogy and this book came next for me.  Its strange, dark tone and fascinating time travel completely drew me in.  Later, I finally got my hands on Many Waters (which I think was difficult to find at that point, because I don’t remember owning it until I was at least fourteen), and loved it as well.  There are Murray books–even L’Engle books–that I liked but didn’t love, but many waters cannot quench my love for these books nor floods reveal them as anything but brilliant, and I totally remember that off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

