Skip to content

WiB!

October 25, 2008

Okay, I’m at the community college again with my daughter swimming (in CLOTHES!–“What do you doooo if you FALL IN???!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!”) but this time the drafts are saving instead of putting up an error message, so I’m guessing this is safe.  Just in case, I’ll C&P into my booklist file before posting.  JUST. IN. CASE.

La Perdida by Jessica Abel is one of those graphic novels that shows off what graphic novels can do.  You know, the kind that should be winning handfuls of awards and impressing the hell out of people who think that “graphic novel” means a collection of superhero comics.  A stark contrast to the amusing “vampire Clerks” story that was Life Sucks, La Perdida is a realistic look at a young American woman trying to figure out where she belongs.  Carla “drops by” on her rich white FWB in Mexico City hoping to connect with her heritage and ends up entangled in a cultural war she cannot begin to understand.  It helps when reading this to have at least a little knowledge of Spanish, but much of it is translated so it’s not THAT big of a deal but, as I said, it helps.  I loved this work so much, it’s totally Best of Bookslide-worthy.  (Which I will from now on refer to as “BoB-worthy.”) It is also SERIOUSLY on sale on Amazon right now.  Gooooo!

Jane Yolen’s Briar Rose is a fabulous take on the old story, and I wish I’d known about this when we were doing our hypertextuality thesis papers (although I probably STILL would’ve chosen Fables).  I don’t want to give anything away, because it is almost a mystery at its basis, but it’s best if you don’t go in thinking this is just a modern retelling of the fairy tale.  It certainly is not.  Uh…sorry to be vague, but the way that the book builds, NEEDING to know what happens is a huge part of what makes it work, so to give up details would really destroy that.  I was upset when I had to sleep in the middle of reading this book.  I just wanted to knowwww.  This YA novel twists and turns but ultimately is slowed down during the big reveal.  It’s still a wonderful book, especially for younger teens who think they’re too old for fairy tales but really aren’t.  

Ed Brubaker’s Coward took me a bit to get into, but once I did, Brubaker didn’t fail to disappoint.  I miss Gotham Central.  Brubaker’s at his best when he’s in a dark place, noir as heck.

SERIOUSLY, WHY WOULDN’T YOU TAKE A WHISTLE AWAY FROM A SMALL CHILD IN A PUBLIC PLACE?  HE IS LITERALLY BLOWING THE WHISTLE THEN GOING “AHHH!”  NOT EVEN IN A FUNNY SORT OF RAVER WAY.  AND I GENERALLY LIKE CHILDREN, HAVING ONE OF MY OWN AND ALL THAT.

I absolutely had to read Girl of the Moment by Lizabeth Zindel because Ms. Zindel is the daughter of Paul Zindel, who wrote The Pigman.  Can the daughter live up to her father’s talent?  The answer is yes.  Ms. Zindel, despite her age, writes an entertaining but ultimately thoughtful story about a teenaged girl who loses sight of her priorities while interning with a fabulous (or is she?) movie star.  I believe this book is a sign of great things to come from Ms. Zindel, and I will totally recommend this book to my daughter when she’s a little older.  It’s my hope that Ms. Zindel grows away from the Bridget Jones-y trap of embarrassing situations, but I never felt like they were utterly ridiculous, so I was fine with them.  Just remember for the future: doing stupid things is not plot, any more than ceasing to do stupid things is character development.  Not that Ms. Zindel needs to worry about that; all her character development was fine, thank goodness.  (Ms. Fielding, you might want to take note there.)  Wikipedia says she’s also an actress, but I think it’d be a loss to the YA world if she didn’t, at least for now, keep writing.  Hey, wait a second, she’s the same age as me!  I thought she was like, somewhere between 19-23.  Hm.  Still, great book.

Argh, time to go.  I was just about to get to Barbara Wood too!  I love her!

Ah well.  Some other time.  Gotta get the hair dryer ready for my kid, who refuses to believe that it’s getting colder out.

Leave a Reply

