Skip to content

WiB!

November 15, 2008

I have promised myself that I won’t go crazy trying to top myself every year in the amount of stuff I read.  This is probably for the best because I’m sure I’m missing (probably small, but still) chunks of my book list from the time that my computer crashed and I was lying on the ground for a month with my back all screwed up, scribbling the list of what I’d read that day in the back of notebooks while on happy pills.  Well, sleepy pills.

But in case you were wondering, the count so far is…299!

I’m sure there’s something wrong with me that I just went into a slight panic over how LITTLE I’ve read this year.  *eyeroll*

Sooo, this past week (excluding Spotlights and manga), I read just a few things:

The Little Lady Agency and the Prince wraps up Hester Browne’s trilogy of the lovely, naive Melissa who, despite everything that makes sense in life, never finds out that her name MEANS the name of her alter ego.  Well, sort of.  Her alter ego is Honey (Melissa = honey bee, honey, bee), a busty, curvy blonde (wig) who can get any man’s shape in life.  This time the man is an actual, honest-to-God prince, if sort of the Paris Hilton version of royalty, and Melissa needs to whip him into shape to please her grandmother, an old family friend of His Highness.  Meanwhile, her now-fiance Jonathan is in Paris, and Melissa’s having second thoughts about taking her show on the road.  This last book wraps up everything nicely, finishes the building of Melissa’s backbone, and made me once again sit up a little taller and pay attention to the way I’m walking.  But I didn’t try to overgroom this time.  I gotta be me.  Fortunately, Hester Browne will keep being her (fabulous author) next year with a new book.  Boo hiss at the long wait–June!–but yay for more Hester Browne.

Then I read the first Exterminators trade, Bug Brothers.  This comic is…not for the weak-stomached or the bugphobic.  Ew ew ew ew ew ew ew ew ewwwww.  I still haven’t gotten through the second one, although it’s not for lack of an intruiging story.  It’s just all the BUGS, my God.  I can’t even talk about it, if I want to get through it.  I swear.  I’m just going to plow through…but not anytime before bed.  *shudder*

Then I FINALLY remembered to read the next book in Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies trilogy, Pretties.  Westerfeld once again writes an only-slightly-preachy fast-paced tale.  Actually, this one seemed more preachy than the last, but I can’t really be sure, it was so long ago that I started.  I’m annoyed with myself that it took me this long to order this one from the library, as I loved Uglies so much.  The story of a society where everyone is made beautiful to level the playing field, the main character Tally goes undercover to aid the “Smokies” in their endeavor to rock New Pretty Town to the core.  Yes, yes, I know it sounds dumb.  It isn’t.  Westerfeld does a great job in creating something deceptively simple, like New Pretty Town itself.  Gotta remember to put a hold on Specials, especially since I can sort of say “Okay, I get where this could go” for the next one, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what the 4th book could be about yet.  I was pretty sure it was only supposed to be a trilogy, and if I ask my daughter (who read them all), she’ll end up spoiling me.  I can make it.  It’s only a few days’ wait.

Um, I also read Ross Campbell’s Water Baby, a Minx book, but…Ross Cambell’s stuff is so realistic it makes me want to kill myself either from boredom or from the fact that life is pretty much depressing as heck.  THANKS FOR NOT TAKING ME OUT OF MY GREY WORLD, CAMPBELL.  I read to ESCAPE–well, you know what I mean.  I don’t read to get depressed and gain a fear of sharks.  Unwashed Brody gets her leg eaten by a shark and then lets her jackass ex-boyfriend come visit, and then drives him home with her bff.  There.  That’s the whole thing.

Finally (I told you there wasn’t much), I read B.P.R.D.: Plague of Frogs, which is the Hellboy-less Hellboy series.  Oh, that’s probably unfair of me.  I’m getting a headache from all the books I’ve piled onto my new shelves.  Some of them are old and gross.  But that doesn’t make B.P.R.D. a fascinating read–it generally isn’t.  I never really LOVE it.  I like it, always like it, and sometimes I REALLY like a certain story, but mostly I just wish there were a way to take the good stuff from the movies (like the visuals) and the good stuff from the comics, and give me something to love.  It’s probably not Mignola’s fault that I was watching his movie when I realized I needed to get to the ER because this pain in my back was hitting critical levels.  Anyway.

So I picked up the 52 trades because I always wanted to read them in trade form, but I felt like not enough time had passed.  I’m still not sure on the time thing, but I’m ready to get back into comics bigtime (pleeeeease, library, back me up here!), so I need to start–or review–somewhere.

Speaking of comics, I also have to get that Batman list for you.  I will.  Probably tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    November 17, 2008 9:28 am

    I was really starting to dislike Jonathan by the middle of TLLA&TP. Of course, Melissa needed to stand up for herself too but because I like Melissa so much, I put all the blame on Jonathan :p

    And the fourth one of Pretties is something different. Same world, Tally shows up but it is set in a completely different part of the world.

  2. bookslide permalink*
    November 17, 2008 9:54 am

    I would get mad at Melissa for her family, but yeah, easy to transfer the dislike to Jonathan for being a dick.

    One of the things I kept thinking to myself is that New Pretty Town is a construct that could be the last of its kind, but I guess that’s unrealistic. It would’ve been fantastic to find out though. Like, everything outside New Pretty Town (in terms of other, similar cities) are just fabricated. Well, I guess it could still happen…your wording didn’t give that possibility away. 😀 It was just a weird thought I had in my head. I certainly can’t imagine a WORLD disciplined like this. A community? Absolutely.

Trackbacks

  1. The Week in Books: 2010 Summer Edition Part 1 « Bookslide III

Leave a Reply

