Skip to content

Holy crap, I am tired

November 17, 2008

The plan was to try to make the graphic novel list while at the ex-bf’s house (I do my laundry there).  But he didn’t get off work till late, so I went to my friend’s to do my laundry instead and it was a fabulous night of Boggle.  Except that I’ve been exhausted ALL DAY so this is going to be one of those Other Rec posts that I’m focusing on too much lately.

(Blogging every day isn’t as cool as it sounds.  I mean, if you’re not doing like a 365 Books a Year project or something.  Posting each day doesn’t give thoughts enough time to settle, I figure.)

So let me just knock out a list of some of my favorite word-based games:

-Boggle.  I almost always beat my friend, but she still loves me.  The only person I can’t beat 3/4 games is my best girl’s husband.  He’s a genius.  The bastard.

-Scrabble.  I actually learned to play this with my Boggle friend and, for some reason, I learned to play wrong.  You got to use those colored squares whether you were the first person to play on them or the third.  This means that competitive Scrabble is not my thing.  I do like playing solo games on the CD that came with my breakfast cereal.

Text Twist.  Unscrambling letters.  Not my forte, but much fun.

Bookworm.  Find words in a board filled with letters, and then more letters drop in to fill the board back up.  But then there are flaming letters that can set your “library” afire if you let them burn their way to the bottom of the screen.  Horribly addictive, and you can play for hours without losing once you’ve got the hang of it.  Evil, evil timewaster.

-Bee Cubed.  They say the words, you spell ’em.  On M-W.com every few days.  (They rotate out their games.)

-Dictionary Devil.  Fit words into blank spaces in definitions, and then match the definitions to their words.  Awesome game.  On M-W.com every few days.

-Citation.  Match the names or words to their definitions.  Very pretty, on top of occasionally being very difficult.  On M-W.com every few days.

Fowl Play.  Like Text Twist, with chickens.

Good night, blogosphere.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 7:38 am

    Oh! I love Scrabble! Actually, I like a lot of board games but not many of my friends or family really play them often with me. Like, I’m the type of person that would want to play them once a week or something. I love games like Taboo and Cranium, stuff that makes people loud and obnoxiously fun.

  2. bookslide permalink*
    November 18, 2008 8:48 am

    Have you tried looking at Meetup to see if there’s a board game group? I know there’s one in my area.

    Taboo, I forgot that one! I could’ve hit that buzzer for fun (and to annoy everyone around me) for hours! I wonder if my Boggle/Scrabble friend still has hers…I think her son hid the buzzer at one point, because I was driving him crazy. 😀

Leave a Reply

