Skip to content

See? I’m old.

November 19, 2008

So the power’s out and I’m writing this into TextEdit even though I know I have to leave in a few minutes (…ago).  But yesterday’s Twilight stuff, not just in here but all along the internet, made me question myself: Am I too old for this stuff?

It’s a dumb question, really.  But when you’re looking in at a fandom from the outside, and you’re in your 30s, it can be easy to pass it off as “I’m so oldddd.  Look how oldddd I am.  I can no longer care about stuff because I’m so olddd.”

But, as with all dumb things, it only takes a second to realize that it’s not you, it’s them.

Yes, my reading style has changed.  (Power’s back on!)   (The internet isn’t!)  I no longer swoon over the broody, damaged types.  Oh well, maybe sometimes, but only if the story is really good and there’s serious characterization.  I’m far more attracted to realism right now, even if it’s only emotional realism.  If I see something in a story that I can remember doing or feeling, or it’s so realistic that I can easily imagine it happening, I’m taken.

**

Hours later…

I got a little tunnel vision with Twilight.  I’d forgotten that I JUST read about a zillion YA things that made me happy.  Heck, in a way that stuff makes you feel ageless.  You don’t forget the emotions of your teenage years, even if the details slip away after a while.  But you get a little perspective.  You find yourself cheering for the healthier relationships.  You feel, “No one should go through bad stuff.”  *I* feel that no one should have to discover anything previously discovered.  The greatest accomplishment I could reach as a parent would be if my daughter made all new mistakes. 😀

Just a quick other rec, I am still loving the heck out of Pushing Daisies.  It cheered up a long, stressful day immensely.  And now I need to go write up at least part of my day in my personal blog and try to get to bed before 11.  TRY.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 9:05 pm

    one is never too old… 🙂

  2. bookslide permalink*
    November 20, 2008 8:09 am

    Oh, I don’t know. There’s definitely an age where wearing sparkly “Diva” tanks and short shorts is questionable.

Leave a Reply

