Skip to content

OMG

November 22, 2008

Guys.  You guys.  You wouldn’t believe the day I had.  It had absolutely nothing to do with books, although I did finish Specials.  It involved a feral cat and a part of the house WE DIDN’T EVEN KNOW EXISTED.  It looked like freakin’ House on Haunted Hill in there.  Actually, there are probably like 700 other things it looked more like, but I don’t get out much.  I also happen to like the remake of House on Haunted Hill.  It’s filled with actors I like: Taye Diggs, Geoffrey Rush, Chris Kattan, James Marsters, and, to a lesser extent, Ali Larter–SOUTH JERSEY REPRESENT–and Famke “I’m Sorry About What Happened To Your Jean Grey” Janssen.  It also has Peter Gallagher, who I’ve loved to hate since I was a kid, and, for some reason, Lisa Loeb.  Oh, and Debi Mazar.  Oh, and Max Perlich.  And the chick from Mortal Kombat.  And The Question.  Also, the entire movie is like they stuck a plot on a Tool video, and added in Chris Kattan for the funny.

So I’ve been a little busy today and certainly didn’t have time to come up with stuff to entertain you.  If I post this any later than this, my head will conk on the keyboard when I fall asleep.  And I already feel like this thing is going to break from my fast, hard typing.  Aw yeah.

Obviously I’m delirious.

So I thought, hey, cats.  Maybe I’ll do a post about cats.  Let’s see if I can pull this off.

My favorite little kids’ book with cats in them is Calico’s Curious Kittens by Phyllis Limbacher Tildes. It is the cutest kitty book ever.  You just wanna reach through the page and rub their fluffy tummies.  OMG.  If you’re a cat person and a kid person, you need to buy this book for your mini-mes.

My second favorite little kids’ book with cats in them is Cookie’s Week by Cindy Ward and Tomie dePaola.  This was my daughter’s favorite.  Cookie made her giggle every time.

When your kid gets a little older, it’s time to introduce him or her to Chester, the cat from Deborah and James Howe’s Bunnicula.  If you’re not familiar with Bunnicula, the vampire bunny–no time like the present.  This book’s a classic, and Chester–a brilliant feline, if he does say so himself–is one of the reasons.

A little older?  Time for Garfield.  Oh, you and I know that the fat jokes are b-a-d bad, but darn if that cat doesn’t stay funny after all this time.  My daughter can barely pull herself away from Garfield these days.  Oh, and if you’re over the whole Garfield thing?  Try Garfield Minus Garfield.

You know, I can’t think of any cats in grown-up books.  I mean, I know there’s the whole Cat Who series, but I don’t know if I ever read one.  I know that there’s a cat in the M.K. Wren Conan Flagg mysteries, but it doesn’t DO anything.  I used to love A Multitude of Sins.  I have no idea where I got a copy, but I must’ve been twelve or something, because I thought it was awesome how it looked like Data from Star Trek: The Next Generation‘s head on the cover.

I tried, guys.  I mean, you all know there are cool cats all over the place: Crookshanks and Dinah and The Cheshire Cat and all that.  But what about grown up book cats?  I’m at a loss here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kareila permalink
    November 22, 2008 11:23 pm

    Tailchaser’s Song, by Tad Williams (pretty good)
    The Cat Who Walks Through Walls, by Robert Heinlein (haven’t read)
    The Cat Returns (not a book, a film by Miyazaki, very good)

  2. bookslide permalink*
    November 24, 2008 8:43 am

    Well, if we’re going to films, there are tons of awesome cats. I think. You probably shouldn’t ask me to think right now. Yay, wedding, though.

Leave a Reply

