Skip to content

My required Thanksgiving viewing list

November 27, 2008

I don’t have much time today, of course.  I’ve got two free meals to eat, and a kid to track down.  (She’s with my mom.)

But I may take the time out to watch The House of Yes while I get ready.  It’s one of my favorite movies, and it takes place on Thanksgiving.  My ex-boyfriend calls it “the kind of movie that could have only been made in the 1990s”–I’m guessing that has something to do with the indie weirdness of it.  Based on a play, The House of Yes (starring Parker Posey and Freddie Prinze Jr and Tori Spelling and Genevieve Bujould and Josh Hamilton and Rachael Leigh Cook and that’s pretty much it but for whoever does the voice of Marty when he’s younger) is a strange Thanksgiving tale.  Marty (Hamilton) is bringing his sweet but ditzy fiancee (Spelling) to meet his family: his cold, aristocratic mother (Bujould), his sweet but ditzy brother (Prinze) and his formerly-institutionalized twin sister, who calls herself Jackie-O (Posey).  As the night unfolds, all sorts of twists and turns happen and secrets are revealed, but my favorite things about this movie are the rapid-fire, highly quotable dialogue and the sense that these characters exist before and after the action in the movie.  Not a lot of movies do this nowadays, have you noticed?  It’s like the characters were created that minute.  Lazy writing again.

Then, of course, after I’ve been filled with eggplant “parmesan” at the diner with my mom’s side of the family, and then something vegan cooked up by my ex-boyfriend with HIS family, my daughter and I will come home and watch the Gilmore Girls episode “A Deep-Fried Korean Thanksgiving” and the Buffy episode “Pangs.”  Good times!

I don’t know what other Thanksgiving episodes I may have in my DVD collection.  Christmas is so much easier, with its constant use and abuse in television and movies.

So, quick little post for you today.  Sorry, guys, gotta start filling mah belly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2009 5:09 pm

    whatever happened to is it me, Freddie Prinze Jr.?

Leave a Reply

