Skip to content

DAY THIRTY

November 30, 2008

Well, I guess I did it!  I completed NaBloPoMo!

nablowin

…I feel…like this thing is glitching to heck.  First it didn’t load the page all the way and now the cursor is getting stuck where I left it, even though when I pause (and I rarely pause, 100wpm, thankyouverymuch) it catches up.

This is highly irritating.  Also irritating?  I suddenly have a giant headache.  Well, not exactly suddenly.  It started about a half hour to an hour ago.  But it’s bugging me.

But let’s get on track.  This is a bit of mixed bag, because I was reading so much manga, I’ve barely read enough books to do a WiB.

I read Going Postal by Terry Pratchett.  It was a recommendation based off the fact that the first Discworld book, The Colo(r) of Magic, did nothing for me whatsoever.  This one was much easier to get into.  It’s about a criminal who’s given a second chance at life, so long as he gets the unused forages postal service running again.  My grandfather was a postman after the war, and two of my aunts both worked at post offices at one time or another, AND my ex-boyfriend.  So this was probably, unknown to the recommender, the best way to get me into Discworld.  It was fun and maybe one day in the future I’ll read the sequel.  But, uh, I’m not going to rush it.

I then finished Specials, the third but not final book in the Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld (I’m reading the 4th book, Extras, now).  This wraps up Tally’s adventures in New Pretty Town.  It’s a satisfying book, and Westerfeld doesn’t take the easy way out.  The ending is a mixed bag of good, bad, and “…Oh crap, now what?”  Just as it should be.  I loved this trilogy because it had a high-energy feel to it without seeming like a vapid MTV show.  (Remember those?  I don’t know if they still make them, but they were baaaad, unless they were reality shows. And even then, they were pretty bad; we just weren’t used to reality shows then.)  I really think these are the books to give to your reluctant reader.  I’d also love to see this as a CGI series one day.  I’m not sure a live-action movie would work without a lot of CGI thrown in to get that extra-eerie “pretty” feel.

Lastly, I read Neil Gaiman’s series The Eternals before going on my manga kick.  It was…pretty confusing.  I think I need some more source material, although I’m sure it could be read without it.  It fit into the whole Civil War thing, which was like “Oh, okay.”  I still think Civil War was a good idea, although like all crossovers it had its moments of not-goodness.  Not-goodness?  Ugh, my head is affecting everything.

So yeah, that was it for the past two weeks, in terms of novels and graphic novels.  Man, I need to catch up on comics.  I still have to finish the Exterminators books, but I keep getting creeped out by the bug thing.

Yesterday, I saw Bolt with my daughter.  It was AWESOME.  FULLY AWESOME.  I have issues with the lackluster jokes in movies, jokes that fall flat, that sort of thing.  And lazy writing.  This has none of that.  You should take yourself and everyone else to see it.  I’m not sure if the 3D made it extra awesome, but it was cool.  Nothing super crazy coming toward your face, that I can think of.  It all felt natural, the 3D, not forced like some of the stuff in Journey to the Center of the Earth.

Finally, M-W.com (Mirriam-Webster) added some new Scrabble-esque game on their website.  I think I like it!

Later, potaters.  I might take a day off BECAUSE I CAN.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 1:13 pm

    I grew up as a reluctant reader. Now I write action-adventures & mysteries, especially for tween boys, that girls and boys hate to put down. My web site is at http://www.maxbooks.9k.com and my Books for Boys blog is at http://booksandboys.blogspot.com

    I also have a short story in a new book called LAY UPS and LONG SHOTS, published by Darby Creek Publishing. It’s a Junior Library Guild selection. I’m also featured in an article in the 2009 edition of Children’s Writer Guide.

    My other books are all ranked by Accelerated Reader

    Max Elliot Anderson

Trackbacks

  1. The Week in Books « Bookslide III

Leave a Reply

