Skip to content

Like a good blogger…

December 30, 2008
tags:

I started reading and taking notes for my next post yesterday morning.  Then I drove to my friend’s house so my daughter could play with her grandchildren and, like a good blogger, I took my notebook and my reissued copy of The Awakening with me.

Then the screaming started.  (Three girls, ages 7 to 11, one of whom needs constant attention and, of course, the other two think they’re too old to play with her.)  Then I took a break to try to get my daughter her library card back, which failed.  Then we picked up some food for everyone.  Then there was more screaming.  My friend introduced me to a game called (I think) Zuma, and then suddenly it was 10pm and my wrist hurt from clicking.

Wow, that was a fun game.

But nothing got done.  In my defense, I couldn’t have written with all the screaming going on anyway.

Now I’ve promised my friend I’d drive them to Pennsylvania today, so very little will get done TODAY either.  Faboo.

See, it isn’t that I’m not thinking of you guys, it’s that Real Life gets in the way.

I have promised myself I’m not doing ANYTHING tomorrow, except maybe watching The Twilight Zone marathon and popping some popper thing that my daughter got and insists we need to set off at midnight.  The thing is, I really like going to bed EARLY on New Year’s and feeling rested the next morning.  But ah well.  She’s eleven.  She’ll never be eleven again.

Oh God, there’s an online version of Zuma.  Thank goodness playing on a laptop is awkward and kinda sucky.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 11:10 am

    Hello! Nice to meet you and your blog! I´m tryin to maintain one with almost the same patterns as yours, – but it´s not a copy or anything, I only knew your blog today…

    it´s nice to know you are writing about books! I love them, and pop culture also… the blog i´m carrying on about books is zeroresenha.blogspot.com

    =) hope the message gets to you in way that helps you know that more people than you think may see your work, i´m a brazillian, so…

    see ya \o

  2. bookslide permalink*
    December 30, 2008 11:18 am

    Good luck with your blog! Fellow book blogger, unite 😀

  3. trappedintheattic permalink
    December 30, 2008 1:40 pm

    God, I thought you meant your daughter’s grandchildren for a second there. I am definitely coming down with something.

    • bookslide permalink*
      December 30, 2008 9:31 pm

      At least you’re not dying from Chick-Fil-A iced tea. WHAT A DAY.

Leave a Reply

