Skip to content

Wordhate

February 2, 2009

I loathe the word “bookgasm.”

There’s gotta be something better.

Help me out.  Finish this sentence for me:

I have so many awesome books to read right now I think I’m going to have a ____.

…Seriously, if I don’t find another word or expression, I’m going to start using “bookgasm” even though I think it’s horrible.  This is exactly what happened with the word “blog.”  I hated it, but then I had one, and no other word came out that was better.  I am still disappointed that most of the world is saying “lolcat” instead of “cat macro” and, while I try to cling to the expression, I know that it doesn’t quite work, so I am slowly, slowly letting go.  But “bookgasm” is just awful.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. djr permalink
    February 3, 2009 9:56 am

    nerdgasm is pretty universal

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 3, 2009 10:02 am

      ANYTHING-gasm annoys the crap out of me.

  2. djr permalink
    February 3, 2009 12:04 pm

    Oh, I get it now.

    “… about to reach Book-Nirvana”?

  3. bookslide permalink*
    February 3, 2009 12:26 pm

    Religious appropriation.

    I’m picky, I know. But all I can think of is “I squeal with geeker joy to have so many awesome books in my to-read pile.” And that’s just too wordy.

    Bookbliss?

  4. djr permalink
    February 3, 2009 12:46 pm

    bookfest? total geekout? literary explosion?

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 5, 2009 11:31 am

      A literary explosion is what happens when I don’t align my books properly on the shelves. Or is that a bookslide? Maybe I’m having an inner bookslide…

Leave a Reply

