Skip to content

Grad school: Future librarian

April 2, 2009

This week I began online classes at the iSchool at Drexel.  I do live not too far away from Philadelphia in South Jersey, but because my daughter isn’t in school and all the classes are at night ANYWAY, online seemed the best.  (My mother disagrees, but she’d disagree on the color of the sky as long as I was the one she was arguing with.)

Already, I’m freaking out.  I don’t have tiiiiime.  I don’t have tiiiime.  Now, I’m no speed reader like that guy from The Great Space Coaster, but I read pretty fast, which is why I always get behind on reviewing stuff–by the time I go to post, I’ve already read ten other things, and certain graphic novels and manga especially blend together.  (Was it volume 8 or volume 9?  Who cares?)

There is a TON of reading to do, and if I just printed out the list of my first week assignments and carried them with me, maybe I could get people to shut up about “Why do you need a Master’s to be a librarian?”  And it’s FASCINATING stuff, totally awesome.  It’s about people and their information needs, and the systems that are in place to help them, and how reference librarians can fail to suit users’ needs, and how we drown with too much information.

And statistics.  Arghhh, statistics.

BUT!  My favorite quote of yesterday’s reading:

User: Do you have any information on herpes?

Librarian: Is this for a school project?

My least favorite quote is something like If you give a teenager a book, they’ll stay out of jail.  …What?

Also, some of the readings were scanned by the prof, and seeing her thumb there, looking lifelike but gray and not blurry at all, is CREEPY AS HECK.  I keep thinking it’s one of those mindfuck macros.  “When you see it…”

Anyway, I still have a good 20+ pages to read today for one class’s weekly, and then I have to do all of another class’s readings, and then tomorrow I’ll finish all my homework (hopefully) and have the weekend free to do whatever.  There is no guarantee of this, because I don’t know exactly how much reading I have to do for my third class.  (I finished all my first class’s reading in the first day, but there was some podcasting and a lot of vocab.  I think he was easing us in.  Very sweet of him.)

Did I mention Drexel’s on the quarter system and classes only last something like 7 weeks?  AHHHHHHHH

GOTTA GET BACK TO READING BYE LOVE YOU GUYS IF I HAVE SOME TIME I MAY RECAP SOMETHING THIS WEEKEND BUT IT’S NOT WHAT YOU THINK

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 10:41 am

    Good luck with grad school!

  2. js648 permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:17 pm

    How are your teachers in ischool, because mine are terrible. I’m just an undergrad though, so I’m assuming they are better.

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 20, 2009 9:27 pm

      I don’t have any problems with any of them so far. I feel my one class is a little…disjointed, but I think that has a lot to do with the fact it’s being taught by an adjunct and she’s using a lot of other people’s teaching materials. I like my Stats prof–he’s funny and he’s been very supportive of me sloooowwwwllllly remembering how to do all these crazy things like finding variance and such. And my Info I professor is really on the ball getting to everyone’s responses on the discussion board. I really wish I’d taken at least one on-campus course, but it wasn’t possible this semester. Maybe next time.

      (Are you checking ratings sites for profs before you sign up for classes? I find that helps, if you can do it.)

  3. js648 permalink
    April 21, 2009 9:42 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been all over DUreview. It really helps for required classes outside your major. It’s just you have to take a certain classes in order and if you don’t your prerequisite screwed.

    I’ve never taken an online class how are they?

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 22, 2009 7:09 am

      Different. You have to be a little more structured, especially if you’re taking two classes with similar names. (I’m always getting Info I and Info II confused.) Some classes go really well with the online format, and some don’t. A lot of it depends on the prof’s familiarity with the system and the types of programs he or she can use to tie things together. Basically, you need something to tie everything together, whether it’s a textbook or a lecture or a podcast or a WebEx…whatever you’d call them. Otherwise, the student can end up having a whole bunch of information but with no understanding of how it works with the greater structure. Even grad students. 😀

Leave a Reply

