Skip to content

Well, hell.

April 8, 2009

Guys, I decided to read over the first three chapters of Secret Vampire while I was eating dinner.  I thought it was a good use of my time.  Then I could make some notes, whatever, and by the time the spaghetti was gone I’d have done everything I needed to do to be ready to hook up with Liss later this week.

And then I read the first line.

And then I totally lost it.

See, my friend was very recently diagnosed with cancer, and it all start with stomach pains with her too.  I literally put the book down a chapter and a half in–right when Poppy realizes from the doctor’s expression that things are capital-B Bad–and started to cry.

This is going to be the least funny recap ever.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. trappedintheattic permalink
    April 9, 2009 6:56 am

    We can start with something else. Trust me, I understand entirely. Secret Circle?

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 9, 2009 7:42 am

      I don’t have it.

      No, I want to do this. It just threw me. If nothing else, it’s an interesting discussion on cancer–and isn’t that why Smith stopped writing in the first place? Maybe this was her psyche’s way of dealing with it. If she can do it, I can do it.

  2. trappedintheattic permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:56 am

    🙂

  3. Thierry permalink
    April 9, 2009 4:05 pm

    You can do it!! There are so many other things to focus on for your snarky comments. There’s Phil, there’s James, there’s even a brief mention of Thierry (yep, he’s my favorite). I can’t wait to read your recaps 🙂

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 10, 2009 11:04 am

      Oh, I am ready for Cover!James. So far I really like Book!James but the cover is cracking me up.

  4. Thierry permalink
    April 11, 2009 10:44 am

    The covers are the always “awesome”. Take Soulmate for example. Why does Thierry look like a corpse!?!

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 11, 2009 7:38 pm

      My daughter’s been hoarding the books so I haven’t seen that one in a long time.

      They’re odd covers for sure.

Leave a Reply

