Skip to content

NO. I don’t think so, DC.

April 15, 2009

It’s your turn, other major comics company.

So, it may be, DC, that I took a little break from reading an out-of-date article (ELIZA, really? haven’t even thought of her since the old MU* days) to see this.

No.

And no again.

No no no no no.

What disappoints me the most about Rockabilly Kathy (Kathy?) Kane isn’t that she’s Rockabilly Kathy Kane.  I could handle that–if this character hadn’t been introduced only a few years before, and by the SAME AUTHOR.

Rucka, man, you don’t often disappoint me, but this one?  This one hurts.

First off, pick one: Kathy or Kate.  Kate makes more sense for Our Socialite.  Kathy might work for our Suicide Girl here.

Let’s go backward a bit though.  Kate was introduced in 52.  While I thought some of the dialogue between Kate and Renee was cliched as hell, the set-up was great: rough-and-tumble lesbian Renee had once fallen for closeted socialite Kate Kane in the past.  Kate, repressed and rich (like someone else we know, whose initials are BW), becomes Batwoman.  Hijinks ensue.

With this new version, Rucka will negate everything he’s done in the past.  EVERYTHING.  (Even her name, apparently.)  And, darn it, this is exactly what I hate about comics.  We’re supposed to be in a post-Crisis world.  No wait, a post-post-Crisis/other-Crisis world.  Characters should be SETTLED in their backstories.  Or is this supposed to be some post-Final Crisis thing that I don’t know about because I stopped reading Countdown when my ex-bf stopped buying the issues?  I DON’T CARE.  Let’s talk a bit about what was great about Kate Kane and why it won’t work for our new Kathy:

Most importantly, she’s BatWOMAN, not BatGIRL.  Kate Kane, among other things, is a woman: she’s an Amazon (er, not literally), with a huge rack that fits her body type (EVERYONE WINS), and she dresses like a woman and acts like a woman.

This new revamp–we’ll call her Kathy for clarity’s sake–looks like a girl.  A bratty, rebellious girl.  And we already have a bratty ex-Batgirl called Misfit.  Whether you find her to be the Cousin Oliver of the BoP clan or no, Misfit’s Batgirl was so girlish that it seems odd to not have the GIRL in BATGIRL anymore.  Especially when you’re using the term Batwoman.

So let’s talk rebellion.

Kate’s trapped by the circumstances of her birth and her choices.  She’s closeted herself as a lesbian, and her rebellious nature comes forth as Batwoman.  Again, this makes perfect sense to me.  The older she gets–the more “woman,” less “girl”–the more crazy the rebellion.  But for it to come in the shape of bad tats and pseudo-scene clothing?  She may as well NOT be Batwoman but, more importantly, she may as well not be a closeted lesbian, which…actually, circles around to her not being Batwoman.

Because then she’d be in it for the excitement, and she may as well be Batgirl again.

Now let’s briefly discuss the bad tats and the pseudo-scene clothing.

Yes, they are bad tats.  (I am thinking of covering one of my tats with a nautical star, but I know it’s lame–I just like it better than what’s there now.)  They are not scene.  Scene is covered.

The clothes are bad and, as someone commented over there, way out of date.  Actually, what I’m doing here is adding my plus-one to the comments over there, now that I think about it.  I’m adding my voice.  Another vote for “out of date clothing, bad tats, and a terrible idea.”

You’re taking the class out of Batwoman, Rucka, and replacing her with another gal for the guys to drool over.

If you’d done it this way from the beginning, the -woman part would’ve thrown me off but I would have accepted it.

And hey, props to the person either here or on scans_daily who pointed out that rockabilly isn’t really Renee’s type.

So, way to negate that too.

I’m going to hope against hope that this is a persona, not a personality.  Someone mentioned Matches Malone–well, that would be kind of cool, wouldn’t it, for Batwoman to have her own set of bad girls.

Batwoman could’ve minored in drama at some lesbian-friendly school like Smith, yes?

I swear, one of these days, people, you’re going to drive me to fan fiction.  The sad thing about that day isn’t that I’ll be writing fan fiction (well, part of it will be), it’s that you’ll be losing my money by making poor choices that rarely took fans like me into account.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. djr permalink
    April 15, 2009 1:34 pm

    She reminds me of a shitty faux-punk version of Leeloo from The Fifth Element.

  2. bookslide permalink*
    April 15, 2009 3:08 pm

    I think she looks like every Bettie Page-lovin’ size-12-to-18 Hot Topic shopper.

  3. djr permalink
    April 15, 2009 3:20 pm

    Absolutely that as well. She’s just a mess.

Leave a Reply

