Skip to content

Jenny!

April 22, 2009

You know, this is very silly of me, but I think I’ve forgotten to mention, in my busy state, that I am going to see

JENNY!

tomorrow.

Jennifer Crusie is probably my favorite author, as has been for years, ever since I decided to pick up Crazy for You after liking, but not loving, Tell Me LiesCrazy for You led me to Fast Women, which led me to Welcome to Temptation, and so forth and so back (to the earlier stuff) until I was one of those people looking over eBay moaning about not being able to justify $20 for an out-of-print book that no one’s reissuing.  (And by the way?  The Cinderella Deal SHOULD be reissued.  It’s awesome.  Sizzle, however, should never be spoken of again.)  I actually think I own at least one of everything now, and a couple of a few.  (I won a contest, I saw it at a used bookstore in paperback, friends told me to shut up about the eBay ones and got them for me as gifts…)

I have never been able to get to a book signing.  I’m always busy when she’s nearby–usually with schoolwork.  But not this time.  *eyes narrow*  Oh no, you can’t escape me this time, Jenny.  I’m going tomorrow night to the Princeton Romance Fiction & American Culture Conference.

SQUEE!

I’ve never been to a conference before.  What do I wear?  Would it be tacky to bring one of my eBay books to get signed?  Will I even get a chance to meet her?  How many people will be there?  Why didn’t I shell out the cash to have dinner with the panelists?  Why do I feel like a fangirl when I truly loathe meeting “celebrities” and that’s why I was such a crap musical journalist?  I wish I still had my old hair because my family used to joke that they used me as the cover girl for Agnes and the Hitman.

SQUEE!

And maybe going to something small (WILL it be small?) like this will get me more interested into going to bigger events, like the RWA conferences or WisCon.  And from there, it will only be a matter of time before Liss and I pull off a SmithCon. 😛

Anyway, I’m psyched and I’m bringing my damn camera and treating this like I’m going to the amusement park even if it’s supposed to be a little more classy than that because I heart Jenny and I think she’s the only woman left in “romance” (if that’s even what you can call her writing) who acts like a feminist first and a writer second.  In the very best possible way, of course.

SQUEE!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:47 pm

    Yay! I too am going to see one of my favorite authors in a couple of weeks. He’s going to be at a con here in Winnipeg and he’s doing a book signing at McNally’s!! Yay for authors getting out and about.

    • bookslide permalink*
      April 23, 2009 10:16 pm

      😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

