Skip to content

OH OKAY LET ME POST THEN

May 7, 2009

So I was supposed to be getting ready to go see Wolverine with my dad, but my dad–if you hadn’t guessed from the last post–is a bit of a flake, and his car died.  (He has had like more cars than most people and they all die terrible deaths, usually on days where we have plans.  Anyway, he swearrrrrs he only needs to get it TO the shop for its final resting place, and then could we drive all the way to his place to go see the movie?  He’ll get my oil changed!

Instead of, say, getting a new car, he’s flying to Orlando to take his dead ex-wife’s dead mother’s old car…or something.  I don’t know; I don’t begin to understand the man.

Either way, I feel like I’ve been given a reprieve.  From seeing my dad or seeing Wolverine, I dunno.

As it has been about a hundred and thirty-seven years since I’ve done anything like a Week in Books, let me do one of those now, because my practice assignment for my one class took like 37 seconds and I’m so ahead of the game.

It appears that the last time I did a WiB was…February.  There’s probably a reason for that that has something to do with me writing shoddy reviews, but let’s think of them as Overviews, okay?  A pass/fail way of looking at books.

JSA: Savage Times (Vol. 6); JSA: Princes of Darkness (Book 7); JSA: Lost (Book 9); JSA: Black Vengeance; JSA: Mixed Signals: PASS, if a half-hearted one.  I’m not the biggest fan of the JSA, butI like Geoff Johns and I feel like he did what he could there.  The ensemble work is a little eh, the balance is off, and it’s so plot-heavy I rarely have any idea what’s going on, but those are the big team books for you, which is why I generally pass (oops) on them.

Justice League of America: The Hypothetical Woman:  PASS.  You know me, I’ll grant a pass to anything Gail Simone writes.  Again, more ensemble books so I’m not over the moon, but there was some good stuff going on.  Definitely not my favorite JLA book, but I liked it well enough.

X-Men: First Class, Vol. 1: Tomorrow’s Brightest and X-Men: First Class – Mutant Mayhem TPB: PASS.  Big thumb’s up to First Class.  Definitely something for the kids to read too.  Mike Allred can draw Jean Grey anytime

Teen Titans On the Clock (Teen Titans (Dc Comics) (Graphic Novels)): I do like Sean McKeever (especially in comparison to other authors on the same titles).  I cannot for the life of me remember what was going on in this title much, though.  I remember it had something to do with…oh, maybe I’m confusing it with the next one.  But PASS.  Definitely PASS.

Birds of Prey Vol. 7: Dead of Winter: PASS, with a tear, as in the PASSing of Gail Simone from the title she made awesome.  A solid final outing for Simone’s run.  She is missed.

Astonishing X-Men: Kitty Pryde – Shadow & Flame: PASS.  I never finished buying the issues for this, but it was a good, quick story.  I wish Marvel would do more short runs instead of trying to work with everyone on multiple titles all the time.  Makes my head spin.  I love Kitty, too, so anything she’s in works for me.  Almost anything. I can’t think of anything she’s in that I don’t like, but I’m sure I could come up with something, uh, eventually. I wasn’t crazy about when she was in the same room with Pete Wisdom again in…was it the new Claremont?, but I did like that she went intangible when he tried to reach for her. Kind of wonder why, though. Didn’t SHE dump HIM? But she seemed pissed. (Wikipedia says HE dumped HER. Never mind.)

X-Men: Firestar Digest (X Men): OH HECK YEAH.  PASS PASS PASS.  I loved this story when I first read it, I love it now, I passed (heh) it on to my kid and she loved it so much she finished it and went right back to the beginning to read it again.

My New York Diary: FAIL.  Nothing against Doucet, I guess it was entertaining enough, but I’m over the “Look, I drew pictures of my ‘arty’ life and now it’s capital-A Art” thing.

Superman: Superman: Up, Up, and Away! (One Year Later); Superman: Back in Action; Ruin Revealed (Superman); Superman: Strange Attractors; Superman: Unconventional Warfare (Adventures of Superman); Superman: 3-2-1 Action (Superman (Graphic Novels)): PASS to all of them, why not? Sure, some were better than others, but still.  I always think I wouldn’t like reading Superman, but I do.  I don’t love it like I love other titles, but still: there’s more to be done with the Man of Steel.  He’s not as played out as I assume.  I should know better.

The Rabbi’s Cat 2: PASS.  More fun from Joann Sfar. I thought at first I wasn’t going to like it as much, but then I did.

Spider-Man: One More Day and Spider-Man: Brand New Day, Vol. 1 (v. 1): Okay, so…I’m going to say PASS.  They weren’t as bad as I thought, and Dan Slott did a good job bringing back that old school energy even if Straczynski made a huge critical error.  Although I think you can skip OMD and go right to BND. I totally understand what Marvel was trying to do, but I agree with…oh, was it Randy from Something Positive who said that making Peter single made him even older than him being married? I wish Randy would do more comics stuff. His Super Stupor is so, so awesome.

Transmetropolitan Vol. 01: Back on the Street; Transmetropolitan Vol. 2: Lust for Life; Transmetropolitan Vol. 3: Year of the Bastard: PASSSSS.  At first I was like “Oh yeah, right.  I would’ve liked this ten years ago, but now?  Hale no.”  But then by the second book, I’d changed my mind.  By the third book, I loved it.

Livewires Vol. 1: Clockwork Thugs, Yo: FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL FAIL.  I’m no fan of cyberpunk to begin with, but bleh.  Serious bleh.  Even when I knew what was going on, I didn’t really care.  Toward the end I started to soften on the title, but it took too long to build those blocks.

Queen & Country, Vol. 7: Operation Saddlebag and Queen & Country Volume 8: Operation: Red Panda (v. 8): PASS. Rucka finishes up his work in a sort of annoying way–annoying to me anyway–but it was still a great run.  (SPOILER AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE) I hear there are novels or something?  IDK; I’m probably not going to search them out, but I did so love this title even when I had no clue what was going on.

JLA Vol. 1: New World Order: FAIL.  I hate Grant Morrison.

Ex Machina Vol. 7: Ex Cathedra: PASS.  Still awesome.

Justice League of America, Vol. 1: The Tornado’s Path: PASS.  Oh, Meltzer.  Now THIS is how you do ensemble.

Birds of Prey: Metropolis or Dust: Look, I think McKeever did what he could, and it’s always tough for the new guy to step in, especially when the guy follows a woman on a female-heavy title.  I’m pro-McKeever.  I’ve firmly decided.  PASS.

Daredevil: The Devil, Inside and Out, Vol. 1: PASS.  Daredevil has never been my favorite character, but I like Brubaker in all things he does, including this.  It made me want to read more, which is more than I can say for some of the other Daredevil books I’ve read.  (Although I’m willing to read the entire Bendis run; I need to find the first one at the library though.)

Okay, that’s 32 books.  That’s enough for now.  I think I’ll keep up with overviews and catch up, and then write a little more on the books I’ve read more currently.  A lot of trades blend together after time, especially when you read as fast and as much as I do.  I’m not sure these little reviews would cause anyone to want to read or disregard anything, but at least I feel like I accomplished something?

(Q&C BITCHFEST: YOU’RE A GODDAMNED SPY, YOU CAN’T USE BIRTH CONTROL???)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. djr permalink
    May 8, 2009 1:57 pm

    needs more tags

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 8, 2009 10:40 pm

      Shut yo’ mouth when future librarians are speaking.

Leave a Reply

