Skip to content

200th post! Let’s celebrate.

May 17, 2009

I am up at this ungodly hour for you, my beloved readers.  Okay, that’s not exactly true.  I was up really late last night and if you’ve guessed it’s because I was watching The L Word, eat a cookie in celebration cuz you’re right.  But I have a REAL REASON this time: the last season will only be On Demand for so long, so I HAVE to get to it.  Also I’ll be moving and not having cable (I think) let alone On Demand, so…yeah.  I mean, I HAVE to do it, right?  Right.  So.

But!  I was ALSO up late (and early today) because I was reading a book.  What book, you ask?  This book:

toni-front2“The trouble with Toni” is obviously her personal stylist.

I picked this one up a while ago, but didn’t read it because I was busy.  However, ihatewheat over at The Dairi Burger posted about another Toni and Jill book, so I was inspired to grab this off the to-read shelf and knock it out.

Before I reread books I haven’t read in over a decade, I write down everything I can remember about them.  Here’s what I wrote about this book:

Toni and Jill were high school best friends, and now they’re separated by college because Jill’s a super over achiever and Toni’s the flaky artist type with the stupid poofy short hair.  (Of all the stupid things that my hair does when it’s holding some sort of humidity-based grudge against me, turning into stupid poofy ’80s hair isn’t one of them.  Although I shouldn’t call it “’80s hair” because the style stuck through part of the ’90s too, with this cover from the truly awesome–if I remember it correctly–Hart & Soul series, and also Anabella Sciorra way after she should have.  Wait, no, I mean Lena Headley.)

Anyway, I remember that Jill joins the water polo team and Toni’s doing a play or something, and that one of them has a boyfriend back home that they end up dumping, which is all very mature of them and was shocking to me as a kid.  I have no idea why.  I remember thinking it was SO DARING though.

Oh, I guess it would be Toni, since that could be the trouble.  Also I think the end had some sort of “OMG WE’LL BE FRIENDS FOREVER” affirmation ending, which hits home the old chestnut that boys will come and go, but your bgffs will be your bgffs till the end of time.

(Shout out to my bgff, Jennifer.  See you soon–and by “see you soon” I mean “horribly neglect you during my visit cuz you have cute, cute babbies now.”)

Okay, let’s go over how wrong I was.

1) I was actually combining the plots of two books into one.  I believe the other is the next book in the series, Out of Love.  Which is too bad, because I liked the water polo stuff, and I think the book might’ve been less annoying had it balanced Toni and Jill.

2) They’re actually separated by college because Toni’s dad had a heart attack.  So Toni goes to community college with a bunch of old people and bimbos (sigh) and Jill changes from “State U” to the supposedly-prestigious Rosemont College, which I think is the Princeton of Oregon.

3) It was really Jill with the boyfriend problem, and I KNEW that–I’d talked myself out of it because of the title of the book.

Other than that, I didn’t do so badly.  Jill is the overachiever; Toni is the flake.  Toni does end up in a play.  I’m still pretty sure there’s water polo, but in the next book.  (I also remember now that there are red caps and blue caps, and she gets started by covering them for the school paper.)

The book is…okay.  Toni’s quippy, and that’s good, and there is a sense of real life and the sort of “When does my life start?”/”Why does everyone have it together but me?” feelings that everyone has at one time or other.  But the writing is obvious, the characters–especially Jill–saying speechy things in plain terms that make me cringe.  Oh okay, pound that point in, Ms Quin-Harkin.  And Toni herself is so immature and so irritating sometimes, it…makes me want to read Jill’s book and compare.  Sigh.  Why can’t I be like a normal person and never want to read this series again?  I think to myself, “Maybe it’s Toni, not the author.”  WHEN I KNOW IT IS THE AUTHOR.  But yeah, Toni is SO FREAKIN’ ANNOYING.  See, she happens to get a starring role in the local theater production, and she does a great job because she’s basically playing herself, and then she acts like a total tool to everyone, from her profs to her new director-boyfriend.  “I’m quitting school!  I’m going to Hollywood!  I don’t see why I have to try out for my next role!  I can’t believe you didn’t give me the next role!  I’m breaking up with you!”

Ughhhh.

Then Jill talks her down and says everything that’s been said before, but somehow THAT sinks in and everyone lives somewhat happily ever after the end omg ugh.

And what is it about ’80s parents in books where they act like they’re 79 years old, not in their early 40s?  Maybe it’s the whole “40 is the new 30” thing but…all parents act like geezers, it’s SO annoying!

So the book was lame, I’ve made that clear, right?  Let’s talk something else.

LIKE HOW THE COVER GIRL IS TOTALLY KERI RUSSELL.

I know it’s difficult to tell from the pic I posted above, but I’m like 99% sure it’s true.  I’m too lazy to get out of the printer and scan the back cover, but there’s this little pic of Toni and Jill and omg, Keri Russell.  Also, here’s the cover to 4 (and now I’m thinking I had that one too??).  KERI RUSSELL.

Who knew?  How cool!  I always thought Keri Russell was a cutie.  The chick who’s the model for Jill looks really familiar too, but in a “she was in something but she never got that big” way.  Anyone know?

Also, OMG LOOK.  Someone in Singapore is selling ONLY THE ONES I DON’T HAVE.  (The scan is too crappy to prove that it’s Keri, but still.  BUT STILL.)  Ooh, found it in America (sort of; on American eBay anyway).  It’d be like $20.  That’s not worth it.  No.  That’s not worth it.  I have to keep telling myself that it’s not worth it.

…Not worth it.

Anyway!  In other news, I dunno if Liss is available tonight, but in case she is I’ll read my chapters…uh…if I can remember where I put the book.  I’ll actually be sort of house-sitting for the next week, which I’m not sure will cause me to have more time or less.  I’d say “OMG THE STRUGGLE” but you know what?  I’m about three weeks away from being finished with classes and I have to focus on that.  I really do.  It’s probably best for everyone (and by everyone I mean me) if I don’t give in to the temptation to add a second, non-lesbian timesucker–wait, no, that would be my third, because I’m also doing the recaps with Liss–to my busy schedule.

Speaking of which, I haven’t even EATEN yet.  Oops.  Gotta go.

Happy 200th post, everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 4:39 am

    Congrats on your two hundreth post! Another Sweet dreams post to wile away the hours that should be spent on an uni essay! Joy! Somehow, i think Ihatewheat is too traumatized by Ten boy summer to quickly repeat a sweet dreams post ; )!

    While it does look Ms Russel, wouldn”t she have been a tad bot young for a Sweet dreams book? I remember seeing her in a best-forgotten Aaron Spelling tv series ( Romeo and Juliet set in Malibu, needless to say, craptascular.) And that hair style is heinous!

    Keep up the good work!

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 18, 2009 4:21 pm

      You’re probably right. I looked up her birthdate on the IMDB and it says she’s 32. So…hm.

  2. May 19, 2009 4:53 am

    Yes, she would have been too young. But still the likeness is freaky!

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 19, 2009 9:26 am

      I truly thought she was like 5+ years older than me.

      I still think the other girl is from something though. BUT WHAT??

Leave a Reply

