Skip to content

Whitney!

May 19, 2009

I picked up the so-called Fog at the library today.  (THE Fog, THE Fog, and what is this “Losing Christina” crap?)  I never realized how batty Anya was before they even got there.

I’m pleased, but I probably should’ve gotten the rest too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 11:36 pm

    Out of all the C. B. Cooney books I read, I never read these Losing Christina books and now I kind of want to. Or should I just wait for someone else to recap them?

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 21, 2009 7:34 am

      I don’t know. I’m very conflicted now that I’ve reread the first one as an adult. They’re still VERY creepy, but they’re also…ugh, all the chapters end in places where you’re like “WHAT HAPPENED NEXT?” except then the next chapter starts, like, the next day and stuff. It’s a crappy way to write.

  2. May 25, 2009 8:23 am

    Hahaha…Cooney does that whole thing with ending the chapter and then picking up days later all the time. When I first started re-reading her stuff, it annoyed the crap out of me. I’m kind of starting to see it now as just more of her attempt to create a surreal, timeless mood in her books. That strategy worked very well for The Cheerleader, which was surrealism times infinity, but it doesn’t work as well for The Fog.

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 25, 2009 8:44 am

      I never read The Cheerleader, only one of the sequels, which was kind of lame in a Prom Dress sort of way.

      The thing is, the whole atmosphere is sort of…claustrophobic? And time cuts diminish that feeling for sure.

Leave a Reply

