Skip to content

No.

May 26, 2009

No, you should NOT reboot Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

No, Prop 8.

No, my final project is NOT coming together well.  I need to figure this out and quick.  I only have two weeks left.

No, it’s NOT funny when every single one of your characters is funny in exactly the same way, I Can’t Believe It’s Not the Justice League.  Banter is awesome.  Same-pattern banter between ALL your characters, including Batman?  What the hell?  Where’s the new villain with the Banter Ray?  It was so ANNOYING.

(For an example of banter working well the same and differently: yes, close friends develop similar speech patterns.  See: Buffy, Xander, Willow.  But not everyone fits into that.  See: Giles.)

Obviously, I am in a cranky, cranky mood.  I shouldn’t take that out on Bookslide.

So…uh…what’s good?  The opening of The Maltese Falcon. “He looked rather pleasantly like a blond Satan.”

Wow.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    May 27, 2009 3:44 pm

    Oh God re – Buffy. I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 27, 2009 4:44 pm

      I know, right? 😦 😦 😦 See below for more ranting.

  2. djr permalink
    May 27, 2009 3:50 pm

    WHY ARE THEY RUINING EVERYTHING? New generations don’t need their own Buffy/Star Trek/Star Wars/Whatever… I’ll make an exception for a new Batman, since he had kind of a rough time and could use some new stability. BUT EVERYTHING ELSE can just get re-run and re-merched and LIFE WILL BE GOOD.

    *stabity*

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 27, 2009 4:43 pm

      I don’t mind anything over, say, 40 years. But the Buffy movie was 1992 and the show didn’t end till, uh, 200*garble* and the “Season Eight” comics are selling like hotcakes RIGHT NOW. Not to mention the first couple seasons are in two-packs for $20 at Target, so anyone who wants to get into the show can do so cheaply.

  3. May 27, 2009 7:09 pm

    I loved the new Star Trek movie. But that series is 43 years old and needed a good reboot.

    Like you said, Alana, Buffy is too new for a reboot, especially one done by the very people who shat on Joss Whedon’s concept for the original movie. Whedon left that franchise where he wanted it with the series finale.

    Also? Please don’t ever tell me to “See: Giles.” Because then I do see him, and I start panting and drooling and fantasizing about the day when I finally become Mrs. Whitney Giles.

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 27, 2009 8:21 pm

      It’s hard for me to take a man seriously after I’ve heard his exceptionally cheesy version of “Sweet Transvestite.”

      I had such a crush on Tara, and my bgff went to camp with Amber Benson’s sister, so I figure maybe we’ll meet one day and I’ll be a total idiot and she’ll be too skinny for me now anyway. And probably straight.

    • djr permalink
      May 27, 2009 10:09 pm

      Giles is hot. All I’m sayin’

      • bookslide permalink*
        May 28, 2009 6:21 am

        Well yeah, but…have you HEARD the song? *cringe*

Leave a Reply

