Skip to content

When I’m stressed, I post.

May 27, 2009

So I don’t know why I’d say I was about to disappear.  I’m VERY stressed by this project.

Anyway, I want to get it out there to whoever finds this place by searching about the Vampire Diaries being a rip-off of Twilight,

VAMPIRE DIARIES CAME FIRST.  BY ABOUT A DECADE.

Look, I can and will trash the books all I want.  In retrospect, they are horrible.  But then again, so is Twilight, so I happily will leave everyone to their latest post-Potter obsession.  I won’t be a hypocrite–I adored teen vampire romances when I was younger, and now that I’m older too, so it would be wrong to say you can’t or shouldn’t*–and I won’t fall into a TVD/Twilight war or whatever.  You can like what you like, and I can like what I like, and if they cross over a bit, that’s cool too.  (Because I didn’t hate the Twilight series.  I read it like gobbling.  But I do not think it’s good writing, characterization, or morals.)

And yes, I am right there with you if you think that the new show has a lot in common with Twilight.  It does.  By its story and also by the choices the casting directors/writers/etc are making.  By not making Elena’s hair blonde, they are creating a connection between the two that didn’t previously exist, absolutely, and I am rightfully pissed by them going off-canon AND seemingly doing so to link the two sets of works.  But you can’t rip off something that came a decade later unless you’re a time traveler.  Maybe Smith’s unicorn took her into the future, I don’t know, but I seriously doubt it.  Depending on what the show’s doing, there might be more connections.  But there’s a distinction for sure.  The basic idea?  Existed before Twilight.  And that’s that.

So yes, I wrote this post specifically using words that will get those searches to bring you here so you can be told that you’re quite mistaken on the whole rip-off thing.  Now if you want to debate the merits of either/both?  I’m your gal.

But bad info to begin with bugs the hell out of me.

*If I were going to say anything, though, as a grown-up looking back, I would say “Don’t use romance fiction as your basis for real-life relationships.  EVER.”  Yes, I think Edward Cullen shows signs of being an abuser.  Yes, I think Bella is goalless to the point of being a pathetic excuse for a young woman and about as anti-feminist as you can get–except maybe for Elena.  Yes, I think Elena and Stefan are a TERRIBLE excuse for a “perfect” couple.  Yes, I think Damon is an emotionally immature brat.  These characters are not and should not be used as models.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. trappedintheattic permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:00 am

    THANK YOU.

    “Maybe Smith’s unicorn took her into the future”. It could happen. I read “A Swiftly Tilting Planet”.

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 27, 2009 11:43 am

      *smacks you*

      The kidlet is reading Many Waters. She says it’s her second-favorite of the series, after Wrinkle in Time.

      I’m trying to decided how old she should be when she reads A House Like a Lotus. There’s a weird underlying abuse=lesbianism thing going on there I’m not cool with, although I think it’s a brilliant book.

  2. trappedintheattic permalink
    May 27, 2009 1:29 pm

    It’s her second-favorite until she reads ASTP, because that book is AWESOME.

    I just re-read “The Red Tent”, and it got me wanting to re-read MW. Biblical fiction, woo!

    • bookslide permalink*
      May 27, 2009 4:45 pm

      No, she DID read it and she didn’t love it! I was shocked! She was pretty impressed by Biblical fiction though, go figure.

      Er, she didn’t hate it or anything, but she didn’t luuuuuurve it.

Leave a Reply

