Skip to content

Not quite a Spotlight: Betrayed

September 4, 2009

[Spotlights contain spoilers.]

I hate hate hate when life gets so busy that I pretty much forget the entire contents of a book before I can post about it.

Know what I mean?

But maybe that says more about Betrayed, the second House of Night novel, than it does about me.  It’s filler, no doubt about it, with a highly guessable “twist” and more slut shaming than I’ve seen in a book since Bond of Destiny.

The Casts abandon the more general soap box of the first book to focus entirely on pounding it into our brains that sexual girls = bad girls and bad girls = sluts and don’t be a slut, girls!  This time around, Zoey’s got a third guy after her, because as we all know, it’s not worth it to read anything unless the guys are constantly falling over the heroine, and also how great is it to be a lazy writer to up to the sexual tension by just adding another body?  But with three guys after her, Zoey runs the risk of becoming a “slut,” just like, you know, Aphrodite, who dug sex.  Admittedly, Aphrodite was manipulative bordering on assaulting, but I have this horrible feeling that in future books, she’ll be pulling her hair out because she was such a slut in the past.

The thing here is, it feels like we’re supposed to take away the message that everyone can feel overwhelmed by budding sexuality now and again, and that would be great, except yelling “SLUT” every time you do so…is not great.  In fact, it’s the opposite of great.  The Casts do not give the readers an “out” for this–that is, it’s healthy so long as it’s with your One True Cullen–I mean, Love.  In that, at least, Twilight has the stronger, healthier message–and how sad is it that I have to say that?

Also, we’re veering into Creepyville because Zoey’s new suitor is, like, a grown-up.  Like a TEACHER.  (Although, I suppose, not EXACTLY a teacher.  Well, a visiting lecturer?  Still a teacher.)

I have a feeling that at least one of the Casts read a lot of manga, because this is getting…cliched.

What the book does right, though, is slowly, skillfully makes Aphrodite sympathetic.  I know that we’re in an age where we can’t go ten seconds without turning the bad guy good, and at this point, I almost wouldn’t prefer it, buuuut they do a really good job with it.  I hope to see that continue on.  In some ways, I’d rather see Aphrodite as the narrator than Zoey.  Can we get one of those?  Does it do that for one of the later books?

I’m so sick of Chosen Ones.

I have the other two books waiting for me.  Sweet, sweet vacation.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 4:39 pm

    Yeah it does venture into Creepyville. It’s been a while since I’ve read this and think I missed one so maybe I’ll get up the courage to check the library and try to keep my temper since they once again screwed up. It is a sad day when I have to do the job that belongs to the library people. I wonder if I should ask for a raise. Nah I think that would be pushing it. I guess I should consider myself lucky that I never got arrested.

Leave a Reply

