Skip to content

NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO YOU GUYS NO

September 17, 2009

I tried to read Chosen, I did.  And you guys know me–I’m not someone who gives up on a book easily, even if it’s Godawful.  (See also: Under the Boardwalk by Carly Phillips.)  But this book, this series, these writers…the slut-shaming is terrible.  I mean, I can deal with the poorly-handled infodump, I can deal with the truly irritating narrator (I made it through the Twilight series, didn’t I?), but I cannot handle the slut-shaming.

Apparently, any sexual desire in teenagers is bad bad bad bad bad–or, excuse me, “ho-like.”  Zoey obviously equates sexual behavior with being a “ho,” which is entirely negative because she loathes Aphrodite and calls her that, yet uses the same word for her own sexual feelings and behaviors.

I CAN’T HANDLE IT.  All I can think of are the kids who are reading this series and THIS IS WHAT THEY’RE BEING TAUGHT.

Also, that Goths and heavy make-up are bad.  You know what, Casts?  Fuck you.  I hate heavy eyeliner as much as the next person, but it seems like you guys are trying to remake the world in your image, and you know what?  TULSA STYLEE ISN’T THE WAY ANYONE WANTS TO GO BUT Y’ALL.  Your morals are not my morals, which would be fine, if it ever felt like it was the CHARACTER and not YOU GUYS.

It is so rare I put a book down, but there you go.  I’m out.  I can’t take it anymore.  Poor writing, poor characterization, poor pacing, poor EVERYTHING, I can handle, even in a combo pack, but intolerance packaged as good, healthy open-mindedness is my breaking point.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

