Skip to content

Juliet, Naked

October 1, 2009

What with life getting in the way lately, I haven’t been recapping but I’ve been reading a few pages here and there.  Somehow, I ended up in the middle of three books, but now I’m down to one: the Red Dwarf “novelization” Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers.  I know that readers might think that reading some books based off a TV show could be fun, or could be just a retread.  This is only a bit of a retread–more like “If they didn’t have a budget to worry about…if you want to know more of what’s going on…if you ever thought that Lister might actually be a bit clever under all that stupid…”  This book has a few changes from the show (and then, if I remember correctly, goes off a bit into its own thing), but mostly enhances the experience.  Highly recommended.

Also recommended: Nick Hornby’s new book Juliet, Naked.  It’s a slow start, and it never hits anything resembling a breakneck pace, but it’s such good reading.  It’s about the devotee of a little-known now-recluse of a Cohen-esque singer-songwriter and his long-suffering girlfriend.  Except, of course, it’s about a lot more than that.  It’s about the nature of relationships, and fame, and work, and compromise, and stagnation.  Hornby is always good (although, funnily enough, I’m not crazy about How to be Good), and I’m glad I got a chance to read this before I unfortunately have to turn to picture books and non-fiction for my classes.  Blarghhhh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kareila permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:01 pm

    Did you know Nick Hornby is doing the lyrics for the next Ben Folds record?

  2. October 16, 2009 8:31 am

    I love Red Dwarf, but didn’t even know about this book! Thanks!

    Incidentally, I’m giving away three copies of the Red Dwarf Back to Earth DVD over at http://www.TheAnglofile.net if anyone is interested? Entries close 31st October.

    Anna.

    • bookslide permalink*
      October 16, 2009 9:16 am

      I think there are at least three books; I’ve only read two, so far.

Leave a Reply

