Skip to content

I’m sorry, book.

November 4, 2009

Today I had to return a book to the library without reading it, because it was new and people had requested it.  I always feel like a Book Girl failure when that happens, especially when the book is reallllly good.  I had to do it with Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and didn’t get to read it again for like another year–and then of course loved the hell out of it.  This time it was The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood, which makes it doubly painful, because I love me some Atwood.

I know a bunch of people who don’t like Atwood, and those people are generally Canadian.  If often sounds like the Canadian school system believes that Margaret Atwood is the only writer of note they’ve ever had.  That’s not true!  There’s…uh…okay, nothing’s coming straight to mind and when I go to the Wikipedia page, all I see jumping out at me is Kelley Armstrong, and quite frankly I said “of note.”  I did so love Bitten, but her second book was flat-out Buffy fan fiction.  Now Amazon says she’s up to TEN Women of Otherworld books?  How disappointing.  Bitten could’ve stood on its own and been wonderful.  (And yes, I read more than two; I read four.  Three was okay, four was eh.)

But if you’re not FORCED to read Atwood, she can be a revelation.  I’m trying to get my book club to read Oryx & Crake–maybe next month after Batman: The Killing Joke.  (We needed something quick this month; NaNo and finals and whatnot.)  I think my favorite Atwood books, in order, are

1) The Handmaid’s Tale

2) Cat’s Eye

3) The Robber Bride

4) Oryx & Crake

5) The Blind Assassin

All fantastic books.  All very different.

This one’s another dystopian novel, so I’m TRIPLY disappointed.

I’m so sorry, book.  I finish this term in three more weeks; I’m going to reorder you now and maybe you’ll come in just when I can actually give you the time you deserve.

I still have like 8 other things out from the library but there’s no way I’m going to get to any of them.  Still, THEY’LL renew, I guess.

So disappointing.

So busy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:37 am

    I started Jonathan Strange and just did not like it. I think I have the new Atwood on request from the library. Y’know, I don’t really remember reading much Atwood in school. Maybe just Handmaiden’s Tale…

    Apparently Cory Doctorow is Canadian. Huh, who knew? William Gibson wasn’t born here but he has citizenship now. W.O. Mitchell sounds really familiar although the book titles don’t. We probably read him in school. Same with Alice Munro and Farley Mowatt. Carol Shields is big, a part of the new main Winnipeg library is named after her.

    And my favorite Robert J Sawyer.

    You skimmed that list didn’t you – Lucy Maud Montgomery!

    • bookslide permalink*
      November 5, 2009 4:26 pm

      I didn’t get so far, really.

      Jonathan Strange really picks up after the beginning. I had no problems putting it down the first time, when it had to be returned, but then there was no way I was going stop reading once I started the second time and got to the actual magic.

Leave a Reply

