Skip to content

WAHHH

November 10, 2009

I have been mood-swinging all over the place the past couple days, and it did NOT help that I’m wrapping up my term and therefore have to read something nostalgic as heck for my Children’s Resources class.  I chose The Cat Ate My Gymsuit, which is probably one of my all-time favorite books, even more so now that I’m older and can read more of what’s going on with the book (most of which I’ll save for my paper).  But let me tell you, it was NOT the book for me to read after the first two volumes of One-Pound Gospel.  Let me explain.

First off, SCREW that cover.  Marcy looks flat-out THIN.  The whole point of The Cat Ate My Gymsuit isn’t that Marcy thinks she’s fat, but THAT SHE ACTUALLY IS FAT.  It’s not just about perception.  Marcy’s mother wants her to be thin, and yet feeds her ice cream when things get bad–something, by the way, I didn’t notice when I was a kid.

But yeah, back-to-back these books are painful.  One-Pound Gospel is a manga series by the same person who did Ranma 1/2 and InuYasha.  It’s the story of a young boxer who likes to eat, and everyone gets on his case and forces him to starve himself.  Oh, and he’s in love with a novice nun.  Either Catholicism is REALLY different in Japan, or else the author doesn’t know anything about it, because I’ve never known nuns to take confession, but especially NOVICE nuns?  There’s so much wrong in this series I don’t even know where to start.  I don’t know anything about boxing, but I did once lose 50 pounds nice and slowly and the whole way they were trying to crash the main character to get him to lose enough to make his weight for his bouts was horrifying me.  Everything struck me as off.

And then to read all this stuff with Marcy’s struggles with her weight, especially when I myself am dealing with a medication-related weight gain.  UGH.  On the other hand, I have an adult viewpoint going into this, so that’s giving me a little bit of perspective but oh, poor Marcy.  And poor young, and not so young, overweight me.

This paper is going to be fun.  I’m just glad I’m on the other side of the pendulum of this mood swing right now, because otherwise this post would’ve gotten longer and whinier.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

