Skip to content

I Know What You Did Last Summer

November 15, 2009

So the bf picked this up for his students at a library book sale and I couldn’t help but read it.  I made it to chapter 8 before I put it down–nothing against the book, really, but since I remember a lot of the details of the end, it’s not really drawing me in the way it used to.  Also, it’s getting way, way dated.  The girls are so wishy-washy (especially Helen) and the guys are so…guy-like.  This works out fine for a book like Daughters of Eve, which needs to be set when it is to be effective, but not so much here.

I never did see the movie because it seemed so different from the book, but I find it funny–Sarah Michelle Geller plays Helen, right, who’s called Heller.  This “funny” might also be because I didn’t get a lot of sleep last night.  Looks like it’s on instant play on Netflix, so I’m thinking maybe I’ll finally watch it after all, and then hate myself for it.

But yeah, this book is…kinda dull, kinda annoying, and dated.  Also, why is Julie’s mother psychic?  What purpose does that serve?  I don’t even understand.  Can anyone explain it to me?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 9:23 am

    I think I need to reread that book, because I don’t remember Julie’s mother being psychic. All I remember is PTSD from the Vietnam War.

    • bookslide permalink*
      November 15, 2009 9:41 am

      When I was talking to Mike about it, I remembered there’s an unnecessarily psychic character in Daughters of Eve too. I wonder if that diminishes its effectiveness, and why it’s there in the first place.

      I wonder if Ms. Duncan has an email addy…

      • November 16, 2009 11:41 am

        I don’t remember that one, either!

        Isn’t that the one where they attack the dude and shave his head or something?

      • bookslide permalink*
        November 16, 2009 2:14 pm

        Yup. It’s about feminism. Heh.

      • Megan permalink
        November 16, 2009 12:02 pm

        I think the psychic elements work in Daughters of Eve, though, because they add atmosphere, but don’t necessarily affect the narrative in a “OMG PSYCHIC VISIONS DON’T GO DOWN THAT DARK HALL” kind of way.

      • bookslide permalink*
        November 16, 2009 2:13 pm

        WE SHALL SEE.

Leave a Reply

