Skip to content

I Know What You Did Last Summer 2

November 16, 2009

Not the sequel, just more thoughts on the book.

I finished it up last night.  I’m a little surprised–after Sarah’s comment yesterday, I expected it to be more PTSD-y.  I have no idea what I mean by that.  I guess–and, duh, spoilers–that I expected the “bad guy” to be more of a mess and less of a planner.  There’s a lot of planning going into what he was doing.  It was less subtle than I expected, I suppose.  Or more subtle?  I guess because my exposure to PTSD is through the media, it would never occur to me that

In the end, the psychic stuff DID seem super-unnecessary and the gender gap in the time periods between when the book was written and now just drove me insane.  This one didn’t hold up.  I’m thinking of rereading Daughters of Eve to see what the what is.  It’s much more about its time period, so I think it will stand up better, but it also has an unnecessary psychic.

I am also rather appalled that Kevin Williamson made a slasher movie out of this book after the murder of Lois Duncan’s daughter, and that the murder has never been solved.

Now I’m rereading a Harlequin and it’s GREAT, but it’s set in Jamaica and 1) Jamaica is so homophobic it makes me sick and 2) I WANT TO BE WARM.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 11:39 am

    Well, the last time I read that book I was 10 or 11 so it’s entirely possible I’m misremembering.
    I really want to go on a Lois Duncan reading jag, especially Stranger With My Face.
    Have you read the book she wrote about her daughter’s murder?

    • bookslide permalink*
      November 16, 2009 2:15 pm

      No, but I’m seriously thinking about it now. I’ve been reading a lot about it lately.

Leave a Reply

