Skip to content

HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY

January 20, 2010

The bookshelves are done!  Well, not totally done, but done enough that tonight after 7, I am allowed to fill them back up so long as I don’t press the books against the back.  (They SHOULD be dry by then, but we takes no chances.)

After that, only the top thingy…across…bar…needs to go up, but that is a two-person job, and I am not one of those people.  Or the other one.

I’m sorry I didn’t get pictures of the entire process, but my camera’s still broken and my boyfriend’s dad is not exactly timely about getting stuff to us, especially pictures that we took on his camera.  But they look BEAUTIFUL.  Here’s a pro-tip on putting up your own wooden shelving: paint the backs of the shelves the color of the wall.  It’ll lighten up the thing and look FANTASTIC.  I can’t wait to show you guys.

But more than that, I can’t wait to PUT THE REST OF THE BOOKS UP.  We will then get our damn sitting room back–or at least not just be contained to one side of it or the other.  The AISLE-FULL of books will be homed!  HOMED!

My boyfriend’s father said that we might want to think about getting rid of the unnecessary ones, because my to-read pile probably isn’t going to fit on the shelves.  (We’re using two of the bottom ones for board games, but even then they might not fit.)  What is it about non-book people and telling book people to get rid of their books?  My mom does it all the time too.  It was hilarious what he pointed to when he was making his point about extraneous books: the Fearless series.  “Do you really need thirty-five of these?”  “They’re a SERIES!” “So?”  OMG.  My response?  “Sure, I could probably get rid of the ones that are ghostwritten, but 1) my daughter is going to want to read them soon, as soon as we track down #1, and 2) then I couldn’t make fun of them on the internet!”

DUHHHH, boyfriend’s dad.  DUH.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

