Skip to content

Here’s a crappy picture

January 21, 2010

It was taken by me turning my laptop around from where I’m sitting on the couch.  See how the back of the shelves look like they’re not there at all, but rather just wall?  BUT THEY AREN’T.  See how the top isn’t done?  BUT IT WILL BE.  See all that space?  That won’t be there very long, indeed.  That’s our fiction–all of his and almost all of mine that’s not in the to-read pile.  I have the Jenny Crusies upstairs but I’m going to bring them downstairs in a little bit.

Gotta figure out how to deal with the non-fiction–general Dewey?  Specifically Dewey?  Topic by alphabetical order?  HELPPPP WHAT DO WE DOOOOO?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:05 pm

    That looks fantastic! I’m jealous again, this time of your fabulous book shelves.

    My non-fiction is just all on one shelf. I think I put it in height order to make it look nice :p

    • bookslide permalink*
      January 23, 2010 8:25 am

      Mike’s mom stopped by with a burned CD of all the pictures we took when we had the camera, so I’ll put up the work-in-progress pictures soon. We still have no camera though.

      We put up about three or four shelves’ worth of non-fiction books, in Dewey order last night. I started a spreadsheet–not for everything, but for some of the random books that will be hard to remember. Also, some of the books that we didn’t want to separate (like the Horrible Histories series), we put at the beginning of the history section in a group. I thought that was kind of clever, but the whole thing is totally ridiculous for people who don’t know the Dewey decimal system. My thought is that because it’s probably only going to take up about eight of the shelves, it doesn’t really matter what system we choose because that’s just not a ton of books. If it takes him a sec to look up and find his space shuttle instruction manual–well, how often was he going to need it anyway?

Leave a Reply

