Skip to content

Yay librarians!

February 1, 2010

Had to join the YALSA listserv for my Young Adult Resources class and everyone on there is pretty cool and up on graphic novels, manga, and awesome books.  I’m really impressed.

In less cool news, someone pointed out that Neil Gaiman is marrying Amanda Palmer.  I’ve been squicked out by this relationship since the beginning–Amanda’s like a year younger than me, which means she grew up reading Gaiman’s stuff, and for some reason I feel like that makes the age difference seem bigger AND creates a sort of power gap that just…ugh.  On top of that, Amanda is someone I’ve intereviewed, someone I’ve spoken to, someone I’ve interacted with over the years and I just…don’t like her.  I think she’s pretentious.  He has kids; I’ve seen her around kids and wasn’t impressed.  I don’t know, the whole thing just bugs me.  It probably hasn’t been as short a period of time as I think, but I feel like they started dating recently–far too recently.  And yes, that makes me a hypocrite, except that neither my boyfriend nor I are in the public eye, and we don’t have the age and power gaps.

*sigh*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:16 am

    Well, I know that AP is one of the subjects that we agree to disagree on, but I will just throw out there that she’s addressed the “growing up reading his work” issue, and she says that she didn’t. Until they started dating, she really hadn’t read much of his work and has only just started as he’s given books to her. As for the rest, I guess maybe since his kids (except the youngest) are older, maybe that’s easier for her to interact with?

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 3, 2010 9:24 am

      I’ll admit that I don’t keep up with either of them enough to know what’s what. Although I will say it seems strange that anyone who grew up when I did, who was one of the “freaks” or “outsiders” wouldn’t have at least read Sandman. I mean…”art.”

      I did look at his entries tagged with her name yesterday, briefly, and I do take her side on the Lady Gaga thing, though. 😀 I got as far as her YouTube song and the music got stuck in my head for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

