Skip to content

I know I haven’t been writing much.

February 10, 2010

But as some of you know I have disc degeneration, which is a PITA and sometimes means that I get stuck on a bed for the most part for a while.  Now, this might sound like a great time to catch up on recaps, but it’s really not, mostly because sitting puts three times the pressure on your back as being prone (so I hear), and typing while I’m on my side is not easy.  Well, it’s not SUPER difficult but it’s slow going enough that my typing isn’t keeping up with my brain, which I HATE.  It makes me feel like those two episodes of Farscape where the characters were speaking….really….slowly and I wanted to punch them the whole time.

But I’m doing somewhat better and I think I might be up to doing a little sitting in the near future.  Maybe I’ll recap then.

Until then: Sex & Sensibility (the Harlequin, not the other ones) might be the most inaccurate title EVER.

Mannnn, I wish my boyfriend would agree to watching the Colin Firth P&P instead of the slow-talking aliens of Farscape.  (But when we’re done Farscape, we move on to Buffy!)  It’s not a “I’m a dude and I won’t watch chick stuff” thing so much as a He Hates Austen thing.  If it were another adaptation, he’d be fine with it.  I think he’s being a sillyhead, AND he’s missing out on Julia Sawalha.  What’s he thinking???  Let it go, man.  Let it go.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:01 am

    HA! Mark was totally dismissive when I borrowed it from a lady at work. But by the end of the first half-hour/hour, he was completely into it, yelling at the characters when they did something stupid.

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 11, 2010 6:10 pm

      Yeah, but did he not want to watch it in the first place because of a dislike of Austen’s written works? That’s the hurdle we can’t get over.

Leave a Reply

