Skip to content

Whinerbutt

February 23, 2010

You know, I started a recap like three days ago and the page just sat opened for like two days until I had to reboot my computer.  (Don’t worry; it’s saved as a draft.)  The end of the term is hard, y’all!  Today I spent five hours on a group project for which I’ve only finished one of four sections, IF that’s the only part of the project I end up completing.  It’s totally possible I have to do it all over again with another aspect of the project.  But the reason it took five hours is that I had to make sure that everything passed the test of being, you know, critically reviewed.  Going over to my own bookshelves for selections is cool, and I guess librarians do that sometimes, but you want to double check that the book is 1) in the age group (although my age group is “Young Adult” which can mean anything from middle school characters to adults) and 2) some value of worthy.

My eyes hurt.  It’s time for a break.  Vegan tacos (beans, Spanish rice, and Yves “ground beef” along with lettuce and tomato) for dinner tonight!  Then…I guess I’ll try to knock out another section tonight.  One where I DON’T have to go nuts over whether Booklist said something, because School Library Journal didn’t, etc etc.

I’m already getting hookthumb from end of term laptop use.  That means the carpal tunnel is about a week away.  And to think, I still have another term of this.  EEEEEEK!

(PS What should I call myself when I get a degree and a job?  Because, seriously, what sounds cooler than “Future Librarian”?  LIBRARIAN OF THE FUTURE???)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:07 pm

    How about LIBRARIAN NOW!

    You have to say it with the emphasis and excitement implied by the exclamation point. And maybe some jazz hands.

    • bookslide permalink*
      February 25, 2010 6:36 am

      Oh yeah, totally jazz hands. 😀

Leave a Reply

