Skip to content

WiB Summer Edition, Week 3

June 6, 2010

Here’s one for you, and I mean that literally: I read Children of Men by PD James.

Yup.

…That’s it.

I mean, I’m reading two other things right now (White Oleander and the first Battle Royale manga) but I only completed the one book this week, due to MY FINAL FINALS OF GRAD SCHOOL.

I’m still in the middle of that, so unless I magically manage to get everything done today, then this week might be a little light too.

But onto the book.

I saw the movie when it came out, which was ages ago and a LOT of books and movies and TV shows ago, but from what I remember the book is even more depressing.  No kidding.  Their “hope” is even less hope-y than it is in the books, the main character is a bit of an ass, and, there’s a “love story” that bugs the crap out of me.

It kept my attention, it was interesting, but…honestly, I prefer the movie.  Not by much, but I think I do.  I picked it up at the library and meant to watch it…pretty much most of the week, but I just didn’t have the time.

Stupid school.  Soon it won’t be in the way of me reading and watching everything I want to…of course, soon MONEY will be the thing that gets in the way of me reading and watching everything, because I’ll be too depressed about not finding a job for months, despite my schooling.

Thanks for all the cuts, Governor!

Next week: Let’s see if I make it through Battle Royale.  It’s rather triggering, and sort of in an unnecessary, look-at-how-shocking way so far which isn’t impressing me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:34 pm

    Yikes! The movie is terribly depressing.

    If it makes you feel better, I’m on a downswing with reading and I honestly don’t think I read an entire book all May.

    • bookslide permalink*
      June 8, 2010 7:44 pm

      I’m up to…three this week, so far. But I keep thinking it’s like Friday when it’s really Tuesday. D:

Leave a Reply

