Skip to content

WiB 2010 Fall Edition: Week 5/6

October 15, 2010

Last week I read about half of Turn of the Screw and very little else.  I read Mary Balogh’s Tangled, an awkward book about a woman who loses her husband in the war and marries his foster brother because it seems like a good idea at the time.  It turns out that it IS a good idea, because of a little trope I like to call “Damn the Ex.”  This excruciatingly slow-paced book is an interesting look at marriage and Victorian mores, but the author loses the thread about three-quarters of the way through and writes herself into a corner.

Yeah, so that was that. I was a bit busy last week.

This past week, I read a tiny bit more of Turn of the Screw and Bloodlist by P.N. Elrod.  I vaguely remember The Vampire Files from when I was a vampire-obsessed tween, but they fell off the radar until my book club partner-in-crime Meg started talking about them.  I found most, but not all, of the older books in an antique store at the South Jersey shore, but the first one was missing, so it wasn’t until a friend of mine bought the reissue–the first three books together–that I could finally start knocking these things out.

The Vampire Files follows newly-undead “private agent” Jack Fleming, a nice guy who happened to fall in love with a vampire while checking out that new movie Dracula.  Noir and vampires done well, go figure, with a lightness of writing that probably couldn’t even be done nowadays.  I sort of love this series so far.

…And that’s it.  Weddings will do that to you.

Next up: More She-Hulk, more Vampire Files, the end of Turn of the Screw, the actual final version of Jennifer Crusie’s Maybe This Time, a re-read of Sarah Dessen’s Just Listen, and the entirety of Hot Gimmick.

Well, I hope.  I have like 70 thank-you cards to write.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    October 18, 2010 2:52 pm

    Hee. I liked meeting you too!

Leave a Reply

