Skip to content

I’m going to have to pass

November 11, 2010

Got an email in my Goodreads account today about a live chat with Kelley Armstrong.

While Bitten is an amazing novel, I don’t think I could stop myself from asking, “So what made you write Buffy fan fic for its sequel?”

HI, WE’RE IN THE INITIATIVE.  PLEASE DON’T SUE ME.

*

Okay, okay, that’s not enough for a good post, so here’s some meme stuff while I work on my recap:

Day 03 – The best book you’ve read in the last 12 months

Oh heck.

Wait, no!  I can do this!–Wait, I can’t, I just second- and third-guessed myself!

Okay okay okay, I’ll just make a judgment call: It’s Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, with special mentions to Robert Cormier’s The Chocolate War, E.R. Frank’s America, Margaret Atwood’s Oryx & Crake, and Ray Bradbury’s The Illustrated Man.  Perhaps it’s because I’d read three of the other four before and Speak was a new read, but it absolutely blew me away.  I immediately passed it on to my daughter, who declared it the best book ever.  I’ve noticed, though, that she doesn’t want to buy a copy.  I find that telling.  It’s not an easy story to read at times–nothing on its topic should be.  But it’s beautiful, and I want to read it again soon, but not right now, because I bought a copy of Just Listen and I don’t want to compare them.

See?  I knew I could do it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

