Skip to content

Awesome!

November 17, 2010

So today someone asked me what I did, and I said “librarian.”  That was a great feeling.

My new boss checked in yesterday to let me know that I’d be running two programs the week I start, which I already knew from checking their website.  One’s for toddlers and one’s for early school-age children.  I asked for permission to go sit in with one of the other branch librarians to see how she runs her toddler program.  The other one is crafts, probably winter-themed.  I can handle that.

No religious iconography, though.  No worries there.

But I do find myself tripping over my actual position: “children’s librarian at the ___ Library.”  Dunno why.  Gotta work on that.

I’m a little nervous, but I’m more twitched over the packets and packets of information they sent me, and whether I’ll get my paperwork in on time, that sort of thing.  Being a librarian?  No problem.  Filling out paperwork?  Yeah, I get nervous.  Don’t ask me why; it’s a whole thing about my mother.

But yeah, it feels good to have validation for all the schooling I did.  Six years altogether, thereabouts, and now I have something to show for it besides a decent “education” section of my resume.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jillian permalink
    November 18, 2010 7:37 pm

    Woohoo Librarian!! 😀

Leave a Reply

