Skip to content

Epic epicness

December 19, 2010

I’m a shallow human being when it comes to reading.  I grew up on Sweet Valley High, Harlequins, and generation-spanning glam/trash by authors like Danielle Steel, Sidney Sheldon, and Judith Krantz.  When I read, I tend to read for the relationships, even if I’m enjoying other aspects of the book.

Okay, that’s not always true, but it’s hard to get me interested in things like political intrigue and war.  Like Greg Rucka, Gail Simone did a fantastic job on Wonder Woman, but I didn’t adore it.  Why?  Because Diana works best for me as an innocent character, as she is in the DCAU, not the epic goddess of epicness she is in Rucka and Simone’s runs.  Buh-LEEV me, I get how good these books are.  And yet…and yet…I was most interested in Diana’s relationships with her friends and with her love interest.

There were other things I enjoyed, too–the concept of what could destroy paradise, especially–but it seemed like every ten seconds, Diana was declaring war.  War war war.  And that’s fine for her character, but personally, I didn’t enjoy it.  DCAU Diana manages to be everything I never knew I wanted her to be, AND her mom is voiced by one of the coolest chicks ever.

Just saying.

I’m getting off-track, because it’s getting late and I’m tired.  Simone wrote a great Wonder Woman; I’m sad that it had to end and that everything that came after looks fairly crappy.

But I prefer my superheroes a little less super, I suppose.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

