Skip to content

And a happy new year!

January 2, 2011

Here’s the list I made up today of things I want to get read this year:

Off the currently-reading list on Goodreads:

1) If There Be Thorns by V.C. Andrews
2) Secret Vampire by L.J. Smith (not sure about recaps because of Megan’s busy schedule)
3) Robotech: Genesis by Jack McKinney
4) Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer
5) Saving Faith by David Baldacci
6) Dark Reunion by L.J. Smith (and its recaps)

On my Kindle:

1) Mansfield Park
2) Northanger Abbey
3) Oliver Twist
4) The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
5) Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
6) Grimm’s Fairy Stories
7) The Jungle Book
8) Cybill Disobedience (I’ve been wanting to read this since it came out, heh)
9) Treasure Island
10) The Wicked House of Rohan by Anne Stuart
11) Gulliver’s Travels
12) War and Peace

Off my “to read” bookcase upstairs:

1) Great Expectations
2) The First Man in Rome by Colleen McCullough
3) Watership Down by Richard Adams
4) Death is a Lonely Business by Ray Bradbury
5) The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys by Chris Fuhrman
6) The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
7) The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
8) I, Claudius by Robert Graves
9) Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories Volume 2 by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
10) Forever Knight: These Our Revels by Anne Hathaway-Nayne
11) Song for the Basilisk by Patricia A. McKillip
12) Outlaw School by Rebecca Ore
13) The Day of Creation by J.G. Ballard
14) Out by Natsuo Kirino
15) We All Fall Down by Robert Cormier
16) Make Believe by Joanna Scott
17) Kerosene by Chris Wooding
18) Still Life with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins
19) Nothing That Meets the Eye by Patricia Highsmith
20) Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates
21) Five Great Short Stories by Jack London
22) The Metamorphosis and Other Stories by Franz Kafka
23) The Bumblebee Flies Anyone by Robert Cormier
24) Typewriter in the Sky by L. Ron Hubbard
25) The Manchurian Candidate by Richard Condon
26) The Continental Op by Dashiell Hammett
27) Rules of the Road by Joan Bauer
28) The Best American Short Stories 1988
29) The Best American Short Stories 1998
30) A Roman Death by Joan O’Hagan
31) Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Choderlos de Laclos
32) Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe
33) The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath by H.P. Lovecraft
34) Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson
35) The Castle of Otronto
36) The Awakening and Other Short Stories by Kate Chopin
37) A Pinch of Cool by Mary Leo
38) Detour Ahead by Cyndi Myers
39) The Fourth Hand by John Irving
40) Soapsuds by Finola Hughes and Digby Diehl
41) Charity Girl by Georgette Heyer
42) Acts of Love by Judith Michael
43) Rumble Fish by S. E. Hinton
44) On the Night of the Seventh Moon by Victoria Holt

I’m also probably going to read a bunch of the Harlequins off the to-read shelf when my book club does romance next month, so that will cover 45-50.

To to-read bookcase list is subject to change.  Those aren’t set in stone, but I did find having the list helped last year, at least in the beginning.

And then I want to read 5-10 new books, published in 2010 or 2011.  5 of them have to be NOT Jennifer Crusie, heh.  I have Room on my holds list at work, as well as Kristin Hersh’s Rat Girl (I interviewed her once, and omg, best conversation ever), and a zombie book called Feed.  Oh, and Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez, Sex at Dawn, and A Visit from the Goon Squad are here too.  Oh, and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver.

So uh, I guess I’m ready for that.

Anyway, those are my goals for the year.  I think I will reach them, although I think focusing on all these classics might be difficult, because they aren’t my usual light-and-fluffy reads.  We’ll see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

