Skip to content

Something Blue (without spoilers!…I guess)

August 1, 2011

Why did I read this when I disliked the first one so much?  1) Because I own it; 2) because I set a goal to read 50 of my own unread books a year (ugh, that barely makes a dent in the unread bookcase); 3) because I knew it would be a quick read; 4) because I knew going in that the main character would be a selfish jerk, and therefore her selfishly jerky actions wouldn’t seem anywhere near as bad those of her “good girl” best friend.

I was right.

It’s still not a great book, and relies far too much on a trope that pisses me off, but it was still better than Something Borrowed.

S

P

O

I

L

E

R

S

P

A

C

E

The trope is “having children makes me unselfish and loving.”  The other thing that bugged me was “We cheated because we were so unhappy/incompatible, but now that we’re with the people we’re meant to be with, we’ll NEVER cheat again.”  Oh yes, cuz that’s how it works in real life.  For sure. *eyeroll*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

