Skip to content

Whatever happened to Rachel Robinson?

September 19, 2011

I haven’t had a chance go to back and read Just as Long as We’re Together, but when I saw the cover for Here’s to You, Rachel Robinson, I was confused.  Isn’t Rachel black?  Isn’t that how that works?  Alison’s Chinese, Rachel’s black, and Stephanie’s white?  Every cover I’ve seen has at least two white girls.  When I Googled the covers, I finally found one of a girl who looks…I dunno…maybe not white?

I’ve gotta get back to a copy of this book and figure out why I’m remembering it this way!  Am I right?  Am I wrong?  Are the covers whitewashed?  SO CONFUSING.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    September 26, 2011 5:59 pm

    I’m pretty sure Rachel wasn’t black. There was a part of the book where her older brother, Charles, makes their parents mad by changing his name back to their original family name, Rybczynski (or something similar)….so I figured they were Eastern European, maybe Polish?

  2. September 27, 2011 7:07 pm

    I figured out why I thought that…here’s a link to the cover of the copy I had:

  3. September 28, 2011 8:59 am

    I’m pretty sure I was under the impression she was black too.

    Now I’m sad.

    • October 23, 2011 9:59 am

      I think it says a lot about the ’80s that a character could be black or white. It doesn’t change the book either way, I guess, although I liked that the Smart, Motivated One was black.

Leave a Reply

