Skip to content

I didn’t forget, I’m just going to bed late.

November 6, 2011

I didn’t realize it was after midnight, but that’s not a dealbreaker to me.

What I wanted to do was rant a little bit about Strawberry Shortcake.  I know, it’s silly, but it annoys me.  My daughter’s too old for the videos, so I only know what I read about in the books, and in the books–wow.  Okay, I barely remember much about the old stuff, but I do remember there’s, like, a bad guy, and they work their gardens and seem pretty agrarian-based.

Not in the update!  No, in the update, they live in some town with a stupid, “girly” name and there are no boys, except the creepy caterpillar (where being the only guy makes it WORSE), and instead of farming their lands, they’re, like, salon owners and running fashion boutiques.  They get a lot of makeovers, apparently.  The books make it sound like all they do is run their own stores for each other.  I guess they’re business owners and that’s something, but let’s look at Plum Pudding.

Originally, she was a guy, but then they turned her into a brainy girl.  She was one of my faaavorites because she was smart.  And now, she runs a dance studio.  The smart girl.  Runs a dance studio.

Okay, I probably hate it MORE because, in the back of my head, Plum Puddin’ and Shy Violet are exactly the same character.  But still, am I the only person out there who hates the girly-fication of everything?  It’s like, if they redid Punky Brewster, I bet her hair would be perfect.

The lack of tomboys in the entertainment world in the past decade has been rather horrifying to me.  It really says, “Either you’re a stereotypical girl or you’re a lesbian.”  Who’s the last child actress with short hair who wasn’t going for an Oscar?  Even whatsherface from Harry Potter only cut her hair short when she became an adult.  (And called it “rebellion,” by the way.  Apparently, short hair is how you rebel now.  Not that I’m blaming her for this.  I don’t think she’s ever known a world where that wasn’t true.)

Maybe I’m just showing my age.  Maybe this will all swing around again, and I’ll be embarrassed by what I say now.

But I worry it won’t,and I won’t, and that’s the world my child’s (hopefully incredibly far in the future) child will have to grow up in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 10:34 pm

    They did themselves no favors with the reboot. I like the one they did in 2005, I think it was? It had Huckleberry Pie, Apple Dumpling, and The Pie Man.
    I don’t get why they felt the need to dumb the characters down. I find it really insulting.

    • November 9, 2011 7:14 am

      The Pie Man was scary! Leave him in! He’s Gargamel, dammit, GARGAMEL. For fruit.

      Also, the world needs boys, not girls isolated. And the name of the place? Berry Bitty City or something? UGH.

Leave a Reply

