Skip to content

CAPTAIN AMERICA WAS *AWESOME*

November 12, 2011

Really, just good all the way through, did everything I wanted it to, and Tommy Lee Jones was so good.  I always LIKE him, and in MIB I REALLY like him, but this might be the first role where I LOVED him.

Red Skull looked FANTASTIC.  Like the comic come to life, and yet so real and creepy.  Loved everyone–except, I have to say, Bucky.  Not super crazy about the actor.  Not sure what it was.  Oh God, Dominick Cooper needs his own Howard Stark movie.

LOVED what they did with the “skinny” Chris Evans.  I always forget who he is when I see him in things.  In this, he’s very plain-looking, but I don’t think of him as generally being plain so I forgot it was him until the end credits.  The dude is a bit of a chameleon.  Good job.

Now I am so psyched for The Avengers.  I liked Thor, and I adore Iron Man, and I really enjoyed Iron Man II (but I’ve already forgotten so much of it), but Cap was absolutely second best.

So happy!

(If you’re wondering why a self-proclaimed comic book geek took so long to see it, it’s because I am prone to the dizzies, and movies at the theater make me feel sick and can induce vertigo.  It SUCKS to wait, and I’m such a spoilerphobe, but I’m getting really good at avoiding news so I can enjoy the movies fully when I finally, finally get to see them.)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Spendawg permalink
    November 13, 2011 11:20 pm

    I was pshyched that D. D. Dugan was in it.

    • November 14, 2011 7:16 am

      Me too! I may know pretty much jack about the whole crew, but I knew there should be a Dugan, and there was, and that there should be a French guy, and there was, and, um…that was the extent of my knowledge. I’ve really never been much of a Captain America reader. I’ve only read him in some old Avengers stuff, the Ultimates, and Civil War.

  2. Spendawg permalink
    November 14, 2011 7:05 pm

    Those are all good comics, but the Captain America comics are pretty sweet. The whole Sharon/Peggy Carter thing is a good idea. Baron Strucker, that was a great villain for them to pick, I haven’t seen all of it yet. Do the HYDRA agents have their green and yellow costumes witht he ruby eyes?

    • November 15, 2011 7:27 am

      When you have something like the Sharon/Peggy thing, you run the risk of giving the impression that women are interchangeable (disturbing point: especially if they share the same DNA). However, I think it can be done well. I hope it is.

      HYRDRA’s a bit more polished and Nazi-like–my husband pointed out that it makes perfect sense that HYDRA has so many agents so quickly in the midst of a regime that was basically cultish itself–but when they did the salute, I squealed, then yelled, “WHERE ARE JESSICA DREW’S PARENTS??”

      Because I love the Jessicas.

  3. Spendawg permalink
    November 15, 2011 10:59 pm

    They should have done the old HYDRA costumes. >=3 I love those.

    They should have just thrown the Drew’s in there for Marvel nerds like me. Like Baron Strucker adressing them or something. They should cameo her in the Avengers. That would be sweet.

    I have to admit, I was kind of hoping that Baron Zemo would be the villain so that Bucky coudl have died the RIGHT way, instead of…what is it in the movie? He falls off a train?
    They also made him an ADULT…I was very insulted.

  4. November 16, 2011 7:13 am

    Bucky was the weak link in an otherwise strong movie, and that’s not because the details are changed. The actor failed to win me over, so at the beginning of the movie, I’m like “OMG IS BUCKY GOING TO DIE? I CAN’T HANDLE THAT” and by the middle I was like “God, just die already, Bucky.” The relationship between them has changed. I think I would’ve appreciated a younger Bucky, one who’s not the leader in the relationship, the only person who looked up to Steve as Steve until he meets the doc and Peggy.

  5. Spendawg permalink
    November 16, 2011 11:16 pm

    They also made a booboo with the Peggy/Cap thing. In the comics Peggy only knows Captain America, she never finds out that he is Steve Rogers until after he is revived by the Avengers.

  6. November 17, 2011 9:53 am

    So? I don’t think those sorts of things need to be translated 1:1 in an adaptation. It is essentially important that if you’re going to have a love interest in a movie where the main character has made a tremendous external change but is the same person inside, that love interest needs to be interested BEFORE the change. In today’s society, there’s no way they’d be able to pull off some flippy “Ooh, Cap, you’re so big and strong, I just LOVE you” character without–oh right, making her the floozy-type, as they did in the movie with that girl that kissed him. For a movie to pull in the female audience as well as the established male demographic, you need strong women, and a strong woman character doesn’t come across as such if she only swoons after the buff dude and doesn’t at least admire the dweeb.

  7. Spendawg permalink
    November 17, 2011 11:31 pm

    …hello? Marvel Nerd here! We are picky about these types of things! Even the tiniest mistakes disturb us!

  8. November 18, 2011 7:51 am

    They’re not “mistakes.” They’re choices. Do you know how many people read scripts, and how many who read scripts are actual comic book nerds? A lot! Even if you have one writer, which is highly, highly unlikely, at SOME point people discuss the script. And if someone says, “Wait a second, Peggy knows who Cap is! She never knew in the comics!”, someone else would point out that that is the right decision for the narrative. And they’d be right.

    When we discuss adaptations, we have to be willing to adjust for two things: the time in which the adaptation is being made, and the limitations of film storytelling versus long-term serial storytelling. For example, V for Vendetta is not a 1:1 adaptation, and shines for it. By adding the topical fears of the post-millennial audience on top of Moore’s already-paranoid and probably accurate reflection of the then-topical fears of the 1980s audience, you get a layered story that appeals to more people because it resonates. The same is true of the adaptation of Children of Men, although then, of course, we’re back in the realm of novel adaptations. Comic book audiences should be MORE flexible than the average viewer when it comes to adaptations, because we already read in a world of reboots and alternative realities. And yet it’s from comic book fans (well, and rabid Harry Potter fans) where you hear the most complaint. The best adaptations carry the spirit of the work but do not need to follow the letter. In fact, it seems to me that geek audiences respond EVEN BETTER when comic book references are sly or hidden, because it makes them feel so darn superior.

  9. Spendawg permalink
    November 18, 2011 12:49 pm

    Yeah, I knew that already, I’m just mad that they did that.

Leave a Reply

