Skip to content

More children’s book reviews

December 7, 2011

There are EVEN MORE new books today.  But I’ve got to, got to go back a step and do the ones from the other day that I didn’t have time to get to.

Here Comes Jack Frost is a cute little winter tale by Kazuno Kohara.  It’s about a lonely boy who plays in the snow with Jack Frost all through the season, until the first sign of spring appears (or, apparently, if the kid mentions anything warm–I guess you don’t offer Jack Frost hot cocoa).  Seems like a good non-denominational story to read to the little guys.  We’ll see how they like it.

It took me a few pages to get into Erica Silverman’s The Hannukah Hop!, but I couldn’t help but find the rhythm and, frankly, fall absolutely in love with the joyous pictures.  Someone should write a song to go with this book–I was a little sad there wasn’t a CD with it.

The Money We’ll Save by Brock Cole is one of those stories that feels old-fashioned even though it’s newly-published, but unfortunately not in a way that I’d feel comfortable recommending.  The moral I take away from this story is something like “Poor people are stupid,” although I know the book doesn’t want me to think that.  I can’t help it though, too many people make too many silly mistakes in it, and not in a fun way.  However, if your children really enjoy turkey poop, they will love the illustrations in this book.

Child of Bethlehem by Elena Pasquali is a cutesy, dumbed-down story of the birth of Jesus, using bland, multicultural Weeble-lookin’ things.  Mary is, of course, blonde.  I can’t help it that I get twitchy every time I see a blonde Mary.

The Third Gift by Linda Sue Park is a book that I’d probably love if not for the almost (almost?) photo-realistic people in an otherwise beautifully-illustrated book.  They look too real, and at times look like photo heads ‘shopped on.  It’s the story of how myrrh is collected by a boy and his father (mostly his father) and how it’s sold to these three men, these three fairly, you know, smart guys, maybe even wise…

One Starry Night by Lauren Thompson is a story that lost points with me immediately for using the domesticated names of the animals in the story with a chart in the beginning telling you what they’re REALLY called.  What, we can’t teach kids the word “ibex”?  One day, it will really help them out in Scrabble.  Also, it feels like the book is telling two simple stories, which I couldn’t figure out how to read to my kids even if I could do Christmas stories.  I kept hearing the secondary lines in my head by a creepy male voice, dunno why.  The art is nice, though.

Time’s up!  Talk to y’all later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

