Skip to content

Wibella LaDru: More children’s book reviews

January 21, 2012

It’s late, I’m tired, let’s get to it:

I’m guessing I should be thankful that my daughter is too old for Wow! Wow! Wubbzy, because The Kooky Kickity-Kick Ball was really irritating.  You know, back in my day, if a character was going to do really stupid or silly things, you got the sense that they were always stupid or silly.  You know, like the Little Miss and Mister books.  You knew when a character was going to do ridiculous things like try to use marshmallows as a kick ball–you wouldn’t know exactly what the ridiculous thing would be, but you’d know it was going to be ridiculous, and you’d look forward to it and laugh.  Maybe Wubbzy is one of those characters.  I can’t tell.

The Sleepless Little Vampire by Richard Egielski is a cute story that wouldn’t quite work for bedtime, since your kids could use it as an argument to stay up late, but would work on Halloween.  Forgettable but worth taking out of the library for the holiday, is what I’m saying.

Aldous Huxley–yes that one–wrote a children’s book called The Crows of Pearblossom, and I feel like I’m missing something, unless the goal is to teach everyone to be rude to each other.  In fact, the first lesson I learn is that husbands can treat their wives terribly, even when their babies have been eaten.  What a let-down.  Then again, so was the second half of Brave New World (ba-ZING!).

The Prince’s New Pet by Brian Anderson is really, really good–until you’re on the last page, wondering, “Who is that woman, if the Queen is dead?”  So either you have a weird inconsistency, a few pages missing from the end, or a very, VERY rushed ending.  But your children will love it, because it’s awesome.  A world is drained of color upon the death of its queen, because the king cannot bear to be reminded of her.  Their son hates living in a world without color.

But wait, also, who sent him the–oh God, I shouldn’t even think on it.  Oh, also?  There’s a fairly grusome death.  Oh, and also?  Come up with an answer to who the woman is before the kid reads the book, in case your clever little one notices it too.

Stars by Mary Lyn Ray is beautiful but a bit rambly.  Good night time story; I’m going to try it out with my evening story time.

Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan isn’t perfect either, although the art is so adorable you’ll forgive it.  I’m going to read this one next evening story time, too, if they’ll sit for two stories.

I would wear any of the woman’s artwork, I have to say. T-shirt me up, Ms. Srinivasan.

Finally, my pick of the day, Suppose You Meet a Dinosaur: A First Book of Manners by Judy Sierra is so freakin’ cute and well-done.  Can’t wait to revolve a story time around manners just so I can read it again.

Okay, that’s it for me.  No time for backlog, I’ve gotta wake up and do it all over again tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

