Skip to content

Backwib

January 28, 2012

Wib is the new Smurf.

Teen and adult again.  I’ll feel better about myself if I can get under 600.

Zach Whedon et al put out The Shepherd’s Tale, an off-shoot of the Firefly/Serenity series, in which we finally get the backstory of Darrial Book, which is interesting to know but awkwardly told in reverse.  Someone should scan and reorder the thing and then see how it works out.  Still, Firefly fans will get something out of it.  I did.  I also reread Those Left Behind and Better Days.  I found Those Left Behind to be the strongest of the three stories, but all are enjoyable.  I miss the characters.

Speaking of the Whedons (and missing the characters), I also re-read and then caught up on the Angel: After the Fall stuff, including Bryan Lynch’s Spike: After the Fall.  Again with the weird endings, but I enjoyed it.  I need more time before I go back and read it.  I think I’ll enjoy it more the next time.  So many good things going on with the characters.  I really need to keep up with wherever they went after that.

Oh, and I reread Fray when I reread the Buffy stuff.  I think it’s good reading even if you’re not familiar with Buffy, but I could be fooling myself.

I tried to get into Yuki Kure’s La Corda D’oro Volumes 1 and 2, but I couldn’t.  It was like Nodame Cantibile with magic, and I don’t like magic.  Nodame instead, please.  I also read the third Inubaka: Crazy for Dogs by Yukiya Sakuragi, which is mostly realistic and cute.  I’m a cat person, but hey, dogs can be cute.

I read Victoria Holt’s Daughter of Deceit, and it was boring even for Holt–and obvious, too.  Bleh.

I read a Harlequin Superromance called What the Librarian Did because, you know, librarians, but it was only okay.  I forget all the things I didn’t like about it, but I remember the second half was far, far better than the first half.  Poor romance can’t win me over anymore.  The next Jennifer Crusie can’t be published fast enough, and the day she officially retires (it’s coming), I’ma cry.

Oh, speaking of, I also read the appalling The Dewey Decimal System of Love by Josephine Carr, which I could’ve sworn I ranted about SOMEWHERE.  I guess it was the book club.  LET US NEVER SPEAK OF THIS BOOK AGAIN.  Blargh.

I read books 2, 3, and 4 of the Elemental Assassins books by Jennifer Estep: Web of Lies, Venom, and Tangled Threads.  I reviewed the first book in the series here.  The series gets stronger as it goes on, which doesn’t surprise me because Estep is not a bad writer.  She just had to find her “urban fantasy” footing.  Bad news?  Other than that, I can’t remember a thing about the books, except there’s a cop and his partner went bad but he doesn’t know so he blames the main character for the dude’s death and eventually I think he figures it out, but there’s no reason for her NOT to tell him, and yet she doesn’t.

Oh, okay.  I believe she, like, HINTS.

Apparently, the next book, which I never bothered to pick up, rounds out the arc, but there are books after that.  A quick glance at her website says she basically keep writing the character so long as people are paying her.  In other news, there’s a short story for her Bigtime books!  Whee!  Superheroes!

Speaking of women and superheroes, GAIL SIMONE.  I read the four volumes of the All-New Atom–well, I’d already read one, and last year I read two through four.  I didn’t fall utterly in love with it like I usually do with her books, but I enjoyed it.  I like Ryan!  More Ryan!  All the Ryan!  I’m one of THOSE people.  I WANT comics to move forward.  I don’t MIND if someone takes someone else’s place.  For example, I also read Blue Beetle: Shell Shocked, Road Trip,  Reach for the Stars, and End Game.  Jaime!  I like Jaime!  More Jaime!  Although we get him in Teen Titans, so I’m happy.  And STATIC.  OMG, I could not be happier about Static.  I adore Static!  I also read Teen Titans: Changing of the Guard, Death Trap, Child’s Play, and Ravager: Fresh Hell.  Oh, and Year One.  Some were of course better than others, but I love DC when it’s moving forward.  Ugh, reboot.

More comics!  Love & Capes Volume 1 by Thomas F. Zahler starts out a little “boys are like this, girls are like this” but really finds its footing as it goes on, and I enjoyed it a lot. 

American Vampire Volume 1 is pretty good when it’s not Stephen King, and okay when it is.  I hadn’t read King in a long while, but it was about what I expected: put the man in the old west and it’s all misogyny and whatnot.

Marvel-wise, I read as much of Civil War as I could get my hands on and, for the most part, REALLY REALLY enjoyed it.  Avengers; House of M; Ms Marvel; Road to Civil War; Peter Parker, Spider Man; both Front Lines; Civil War; Heroes for Hire; Fantastic Four; Amazing Spider-Man; X-Men Universe; Captain America; Iron Man; World of M; Mutopia X; and the three Christos N. Gage House of M books I could get my hands on were all awesome.  Punisher War Journal; Black Panther; Wolverine; War Crimes; and X-Men were all good.  Chris Claremont’s House of M stuff was bleh.  Only one stunk, and that was Thunderbolts.  My husband says it’s not as bad as I make it out, but that it’s still bad.  AND IT IS. Which is too bad because the characters were pretty cool.  It was just really confusing and oddly-written.

God, I loved Civil War.  THINGS HAPPENED.

Another series where things feel like a progression?  New X-Men, specifically the Childhood’s End series.  Craig Kyle does a great job making us like these new characters, these new X-kids.  I grew up with Generation X and stuff, so I’m okay with things–say it with me–MOVING ON.

I listened to Tina Fey’s audiobook of Bossypants, and I highly suggest going the audiobook route with it.  For one, she isn’t just reading the book.  She takes the audiobook format and runs with it, and it seems like it’s extra-hilarious.  Plus, I think some of her concerns could come off condescending on the page, but you can tell by her voice that she’s completely in earnest.

Oh well, I’m out of time.  And I had more to discuss!  I’ll get to it.  I’m still over 600 though. : /

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

