Skip to content

More backwib!

February 9, 2012

I can’t believe I didn’t write much about Sweet Valley Confidential.  This book, which takes place both twenty-five years later (real time) and ten years later (book time), is…really, really out of touch.  Really really.  Pascal writes as if she only counts the books in the Sweet Valley series that she wrote herself, and rewrites canon with the tap of some keys.  The fans, of course, were not thrilled–myself among them.  I read the first Sweet Valley High book again last year in preperation and found that it really stood the test of time–unlike Confidential, which dates itself behind a few years with its musical references in the first chapter.  Outing certain characters, okay, but (spoiler) having a main character end up with the boy who sexually assaulted her in high school?  And be thrilled with that?  OH GAWD.

Sorry, too little too late, Ms. Pascal.

Speaking of too little, TOO LITTLE LILA too.

Here’s an odd backwib: I have three books–oh right, different series.  I’m with it now.  I read The Drake’s Rakes series by Eileen Dreyer.  Enjoyed the first one, Barely a Lady; enjoyed the second one, Never a Gentlemen, even more; and somehow the third got 0 stars from me?  0 stars?  From ME?  I can’t remember why.  I’m really serious about my 0 stars, though, so either that’s an error or the book REALLY screwed up somehow.

Hee, I listened to Doctor Who and the Creature from the Pit, as read by everyone’s favorite scarf-wearing doctor–oh, and um, written by someone named David Fisher.  It was enjoyable.  A little silly, a little repetitive, but hey, it’s got K-9!

Lauren Oliver’s Delirium was a let-down, although her book Before I Fall was good.  Delirium is another one of those half-assed dystopian books that are flooding the market right now, but Before I Fall is Groundhog Day vs. Mean Girls and I really enjoyed it, especially once I stop loathing the main character.

I read Ghost Story, the 13th book of the Dresden Files.  Thank God the Dresden Files exists so that I don’t actively hate EVERY series out there.  The story (or season, if you want to think of it that way) kind of peaked with the last one, yet this one managed to be great, although perhaps a bit weak in the ending?  So so so looking forward to the next one.

…Huh, apparently that was all the grown-up reads I had left to do that aren’t comics or manga. 

Speaking of Doctor Who, the 11th Doctor adventure The Only Good Dalek by Justin Richards was pretty good, although it should win no awards and will only appeal to existing fans.

Arana Volume 1: Heart of the Spider by Fiona Avery was pretty crappy, I have to say.  I did not enjoy it at all.  I think my kid did, though–well, a little more than me anyway.  The costumes scene cracked her up.

I read a bunch of Batman over the course of the year.  Batman: Snow was eh; Batman: The Bat and the Beast, Batman: Red Hood–The Lost Days, Batman: Blind Justice, and Batman Beyond: Beyond Hush were good; but my favorite was Batman: Rules of Engagement.  I want everything Batman Beyond to be perfect, but oh well.

Deadpool Max: Nut Job is another poor excuse for a Max book: Ooh, look, we can ditch our PG-13 rating!  Yeah, guess what?  If you can’t write well, what’s the point?

Apparently I missed mentioning House of M: Fantastic Four/Iron Man, but I really enjoyed it, as I enjoyed most of House of M.

I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly is a standalone graphic novel I wanted to enjoy more than I did.  The kid loved it.  It’s the story of a dark and disturbing kid who swears there are magical creatures out there she needs to fight, so of course she loved it.  But I felt it was missing something, although I could not tell you what exactly.

I read a lot of Justice League.  Dwayne McDuffie (rest his amazing soul) and Brad Meltzer did a great job with the team in those six volumes I read, and I enjoyed every bit of them.  James Dale Robinson, who you may remember from being AWESOME, didn’t do as much for me with story Cry for Justice, although I admit that’s like saying “Well, Dollhouse was no Buffy.”  On the other hand, or really a more excited version of my hand, I really enjoyed Bill Willingham’s Salvation Run.

Okay, I keep finding more actual books.  I’m not going to fool you by going back up and pretending I hadn’t missed them in the first place.

I read Living Dead in Dallas and Club Dead, the second and third books of the Southern Vampire Mysteries, respectively.  (AKA True Blood)  They continue to be fluffy reads that don’t do as well as the show, even (and perhaps especially) if you took all the blood and guts and gore and cursing and sex from the show.  Sookie continues to baffle.

Kissing Kate by Lauren Myracle was really good, much much better than Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks.  I’ve always had a soft spot for stories about girls who like girls, though.

Okay, where did all these books come from?  But I have other things to do (sleep), so I’ve gotta get going.  More some other time, preferably after about nine full hours of sleep.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Clementine Bojangles permalink
    February 15, 2012 10:54 am

    I’m still so traumatized from reading Sweet Valley Confidential that I’m not sure I can speak of it.

    And I feel the same way you do about Oliver’s Delirium vs. Before I Fall. It was totally disappointing to read Delirium after liking her debut so much.

    • February 16, 2012 7:42 am

      I didn’t even love Before I Fall sooo much or anything–it took me a while to get into it. But Delirium, bah. It’s on my mental, fuzzy list of books that really aren’t as good as they should be.

Leave a Reply

